Basil-Lime Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Really interesting taste! For basil lovers only. 6 smallish limes ended up making 3/4 cup juice. I substituted Splenda for the sugar the second time I made this and couldn't taste a difference. Let freeze overnight and had a hard time blending the frozen pieces at the end maybe I just need a more powerful blender. Also, the serving sizes would have to be ultra tiny to get 8 out of the recipe. Thanks for sharing Mark!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Even though I halved the sugar in the simple syrup (after reading other reviews), this was teeth-curling sweet. Guests' comments: "unusual...", "wow, that's strong," and "basil??" I liked the idea of using it with rum added, but probably won't make again. Thanks for the post, it was nice to do something unusual!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Basil from the garden and organic cane sugar, great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This was an amazing sorbet!!!! My husband and I gobbled it up. It is the perfect introduction to spring. I served it with sliced strawberries and they added a nice balance of sweet to the sour of the lime. It was great and I will definitely make this all through the summer and the years after. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Love this sorbet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I still haven't made it with basil, but we make it with mint, then blend with rum for frozen mojitos! Yummmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This is spectacular. Wonderful blend of flavors that will have everyone guessing. Getting sorbet completely frozen took a bit longer than recipe said but overall very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I halved the sugar right from the get-go, following other reviewers' advice. Basil from the farmers market is cheap and limes from the tree outside make this a very economical palate cleaner. This tasty and refreshing sorbet is a favorite at our house now and I always have some in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This reaches a really nice consistency in the blender, just like sorbet. However it was waaaay too sweet for me. So I blended in some more water, lime and basil (everything but the sugar). This way you can modify it to your taste. Very refreshing. Would give it 5 stars if it wasn't so sweet right off the bat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Delicious. It was very sweet...may try using half the sugar next time. Oh, and I didn't stir it after 2 hours like the recipe said, and it still had a soft, scoopable texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States