Basil-Lime Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Delicious! We have a plethora of basil this summer, and made this on a whim. So glad I did! I followed the recipe exactly, and I was thrilled with the results. The only problem I have with this recipe is that it takes much longer than two hours for the sorbet to initially freeze, which wasn't a big deal for me. I can't wait to make this again. Next I'll be trying a lemon-lime basil sorbet. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Turtle in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Very refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This was refreshing! I opted to make my simple syrup on the stove, add lime juice, then add basil leaves- let those steep in the lime/syrup mixture for 2 hours, then strained the basil leaves out. The sorbet had an excellent and refreshing flavor. The amount of basil taste was just right. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I loved this sorbet! I'd made simple syrup for another recipe and had already added the juice and zest from two limes. I had about 1/2 cup leftover, so I used that and added about 20 fresh basil leaves to it. I froze it in my ice cream maker, and it worked out perfectly. It tastes fresh and fantastic. Even two days later, it wasn't a frozen brick like some sorbets turn to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Too tart for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
If I could give this more stars I would. It is absolutely amazing! Even better with rum and a glug of spirte added to it. My new favorite drink. Who knew something was out there better than a mojito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELGIRL1979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Used this during a seven course formal dinner as the palate cleansing portion. It was the biggest hit of the dinner... both old and young. Very assertive flavors, so only a scoop a piece, but perfect. (I increased the basil and decreased the sugar). Fantastic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Westport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Great summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Very good but in small amounts :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
it was good but only for a minute after a bite or two i was sick of it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Melon Ice Candy

See how to make refreshing homemade cantaloupe pops.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States