Basil-Lime Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Refreshing! I like a reviewer's idea of using this as a drink mixer which makes me think that 3/4 c seeded/peeled cucumber (blended or pulverized) rather than lime juice, and would Also be light and refreshing, and, make a great mixer for a cucumber basil gin gimlet...I'm not even a fan of gin yet I Love a cucumber basil gimlet in summer, it's so light and refreshing ~ cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I found the flavors to be way too strong. I only used half of the simple syrup because others noted that it was too sweet--I think that would have been right had I added the whole thing. I ended up diluting it with at least another cup of water (more than the 1/2 cup I didn't add by not including the other half of the simple syrup. It made it a little better but still not enough to make it again. Something that may have affected it was that I juiced key limes and didn't use bottled juice. Maybe that would have diluted it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Delicious!! Very unique and refreshing flavor, like a basil margarita. I tasted it when it was half frozen and it was a bit too sour for me, so I added a bit of agave nectar to sweeten it up. Rather than freezing, blending and refreezing, I just kept it in a tupperware and shook it up every couple hours to keep it from freezing solid. It takes much longer than 2 hours to freeze anyway, so this worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Found this recipe while looking for things to do with all the basil I had. Originally thought it to be an odd combination, but was very pleasantly surprised. It was absolutely amazing!!! Will definitely be making this one again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Massena, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Very good one made it at my restaurant and people loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Yummy. If you want to impress your guests with something different and delicious, give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Really delicious! The only problem I had was that the amount in given in the recipe definitely was not enough for 8 people. I would double it if you are really feeding that many, because they will for sure want more than just a small scoop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This never quite froze for me--even after 2 days! Also, I didn't think that this recipe tasted very good with the basil, and also way too sweet, inleast for my taste! (-: well, those are my comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipe_fanatic!

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Used this as a topping for spicy gazpacho, it went great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This dessert is AMAZING. Simple ingredients, easy to prepare, and oh so full of wonderful flavor! Sure its half sugar but just a very small scoop goes a long way and is very satisfying. A great use for home-grown basil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Melon Ice Candy

See how to make refreshing homemade cantaloupe pops.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States