Basil Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This is an interesting recipe, but my home-grown basil was clearly more potent than called for; my husband took one bite and said, "this tastes like pesto." I would have preferred a hint of basil, not basil-a-rama. We really didn't eat it and all of the work and ingredients went to waste, sadly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by futurowoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
In Italy they serve this Basil Ice Cream, The first time I heard of it I said "Yuk", but my tune changed drastically after my first taste. Try this recipe you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Very interesting flavor and yummy. I was worried the hubby would be weirded out by the idea of basil ice cream, but he actually ate a good serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
lovely ice cream ! tnx 4 da recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oostduinkerke, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Living In: Pudong, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I wouldn't eat a huge bowl of this, but it really is great. It is very refreshing. It has a nice flavor, but is not heavy and super sweet like many ice creams. Perfect for a too hot to move summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
i am sooo happy about this. i served it with balsamic strawberries. next time i'll use a little more basil. beautiful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
I love trying new stuff, and I'm very curious about odd food that I always want to taste; so did I whith this ice cream. I gotta say it is a good one... but I'm pretty sure I won't make it again, for it's a bit too special to me. If you really do love basil, try it though, or you won't be able to tell if you like basil ice cream or not (always very impressive when in company ;) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I have been looking for a way to use chocolate mint from my garden for years! I used chocolate mint leaves instead of the basil, and added vanilla as the liquer. You have to be careful not to overcook this. It went from almost coating to no longer coating very quickly. It was very tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This recipe was great. I added some more chopped basil just before freezing to increase the flavor. All of my friends and family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
The idea of basil in ice cream seems odd but it really is very good. A nice refreshing summer treat that is "different".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kenagy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worthington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States