Basil-Garlic Grilled Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
FANTASTIC! I just made this for dinner tonight, and wow was it tasty! I like a little extra lime flavor, so I juiced 2 limes instead of one. I mixed the lime juice, garlic, basil, salt, and pepper together all at once, then put them in a ziplock type freezer bag. I trimmed the pork, then added it to the marinade. I let it marinade for about 5-6 hours. What a tasty dinner! Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
My daughter and I made these the other night. We added 1/4 C of oil and let them marinate for two days. They were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I can't wait to try this since we grill pork chops a lot. The one thing I can add is that I never grill chops over direct heat. It can make them tough. I always turn on the gas grill and heat it up but when I put the chops on the grill I turn off the burners on the side where I place the meat. Just keep the lid closed and the internal temp will cook the chops without making the meat dry or tough. It will take a bit longer but it's well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Made this recipe for dinner last night and it was really good. I didn't have a lime so I used a lemon and it was still the acidity that was needed. I grilled on gas BBQ and my husband loved it. He doesn't usually like basil but I went for it and he really liked it. Yeah! A new staple for my household. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amderrick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buellton, California, USA
Living In: Los Olivos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Wow! This was great. Had a lemon, so I used that instead of the lime. Marinated three hours in a ziplock bag. I turned the bag every half an hour or so. My family just kept moaning while they ate! Maybe next time I will use a lime. Maybe I'll try this marinade with chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I had my doubts as I was putting it together but it was DELICIOUS. Thank you for a 5-star keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I marinated overnight and really enjoyed this, although it's difficult to keep the pork from getting a little tough. I wasn't sure about basil with pork, but was pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Basil Garlic Pork Chop Haiku: "Not my favorite. I'd have preferred cilantro, over the basil." I followed the recipe exactly, (marinated for about 4 hrs.) and wasn't blown away by the grilled results. I noticed that several of the reviewers said that they replaced the lime juice w/ lemon, which, maybe it something that I would've liked better. (Either that, or swapping basil for cilantro.) But as the recipe's written, I just didn't feel that the lime jived w/ the basil for my tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
We don't eat pork, but we love this marinade for chicken breasts! So tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
These are great! I used Lemon juice instead of the lime cause it is what I had on hand. I put them in a ziplock bag and let them marinate for appx an hour. They came out juicy, moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States