Basil Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was great! Added some garlic powder instead of garlic since that's what I had. As suggested, made a roux from butter and flour and then added the cream and whisked often until thickened. This will be my new go-to white sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonchyldcrab82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Outstanding! I followed the recipe exactly, and would not change a thing! I ate it on grilled chicken and pasta. I even licked my plate. ;) Oh, I also licked the sauce pan. Oh, I also drank wine with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I made some changes... I used half the amount of basil and used sage, artichoke hearts & a couple green olives. When the sauce came together I served it with sausage and ravioli. It was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
excellent recipe! .- Pals
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I added about 1/2 cup more Parm because my family is cheese crazy, but it retained the basil flavor and was a wonderful sauce. Perfect for Lenten Friday, a nice change of pace from tomato based sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Great recipe! Omitted the pine nuts and added a bit more garlic in their place (I'm a big fan of garlic); I also used very light olive oil- just my preference. I followed the instructions and it turned out great. It's light, creamy and very 'fresh' tasting (thank you, basil!) The perfect compliment to my oven baked salmon- so yummy! Oh, Caution- this makes a HUGE amount of sauce! Not too much of a problem for us, because it Does reheat without issue and, it turns out, is also tasty on rice and chicken :). Maybe next time I will halve the recipe or just be ready to freeze the leftovers for later. **And yes, this *is* a basil sauce- naturally the primary flavor is basil, so if you're not looking for that, I'd steer clear. (Not sure why you'd make a basil sauce if you don't like basil, but hey- no judgement here! :) ).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyschrantz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
the recipe was a bit bland, so i added some sun-dried tomatoes to liven it up. there was a bit too much cream. a bit watery even after using less cream than required, so i had to add flour and extra parmesan (like some of the others) to firm up my sauce. once it was fixed up, it was delicious! all was gone in one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Yummy! Yummy! Yummy! I had a ton of basil from my garden I wasn't sure what to with, when I came across this recipe. Made it with no changes and is delicious!! Perfect on pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
not too bad not too bad! It does taste a little flat to me, but its highly likely that I ended up substituting some of the fresh basil with dried (oops!) it did take more than 5 minutes to thicken up for me though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Yum! I've never made pesto before and this recipe is a good reason to make it again! I used almonds b/c it's what I had on hand. I took 1/4 c. of the pesto (before adding salt, pepper, and cream) and mixed it with 2 oz. of butter and 2 oz. of cream cheese (from another reviewer's suggesiton). It made the most delicious spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States