Basil Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
I followed the recipe exactly and found this sauce to be wonderful! Easy to make and very tasty. We tossed it with pasta and shrimp ~ yummy! We will definitely be making this recipe again. Thanks for creating it! (I love this website).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This sauce is really good. I added shrimp and poured it over wheat elbows. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I haven't received feedback from my family yet, but I love this sauce. I used farfalle pasta. The recipe provides enough flexibility to add other good things, such as chicken, shrimp, tomatoes, mushrooms, etc. I ate my first bowl without adding anything and it was "just right." Then, I put an 8 ounce chicken breast in the microwave and tasted a few bites with chicken. Wow. Even better, it was. I recommend that you wait until the sauce is almost done before adding salt and pepper. You probably won't need much seasoning. It looks like I need to get ready to grow basil again this year. I can see that I'll be having this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Simple and delicious. Will make you wish you grew even more basil. Big hit with the whole family. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Sparrow Bush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
This was great! My husband can't have tomatoes so I'm always looking for different sauces to use with pasta. I made stuffed pasta shells the other night and made this sauce for him and a marinara sauce for everyone else. When they tasted his, everyone wanted some of the basil cream sauce! Thanks Ayanna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fair Faye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This is an excellent recipe!! I find that using Romano cheese instead of Parm. works awsome!! I also love to throw a couple more cloves of garlic gives it an extra bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
IT WAS GREAT!!! I loved it, very very good. I will use this one over and over again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
A great basic pesto recipe (which can be modified to your taste) with cream. I add some heavy cream (for flavour) and top up the rest with milk, to make it a little healthier. It's very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
Very good recipe. I blanched the basil first by submerging it in boiling water for 15 seconds, then plunging it into ice water, then draining. This helps to maintain the green color. I'm using it tonight on top of butternut squash. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
simply delicous! I don't love a lot of garlic, so i cut back on that and added more pine nuts. My husband and guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States