Basil Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Good! I did make some modifications. I melted some butter in a saucepan, and then sauted mushrooms in the butter. Added about a tablespoon or two of flour and cooked for 1-2 minutes. Then I added the cream. I added a couple ounces of grated asiago cheese, too. For the pesto, I reduced the parmesan since I had added some asiago to the cream. I salt and peppered the sauce after I had combined the pesto and the cream. Next time, I will add garlic to saute with the mushrooms because I like a more garlicky sauce. In a separate pan, I cooked cubes of chicken breast seasoned with salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning in olive oil. When the chicken was just about cooked, I threw some prosciutto in there as well. I added the chicken and prosciutto to the cream sauce (using a slotted spoon so the sauce woulodn't get too oily) at the end to heat it through again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
my family really enjoys this recipe. i serve it over chicken and tortellini. the only thing i do different is i make a rue w/whole wheat flour w/ a dollop of butter before adding the cream. this thickens it up a bit. i also use almonds instead of pine nuts...for no particular reason except we like almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
this is good, a basic pesto sauce with cream. using a neutral oil will be just as good when making a sauce solely for reheating. if stored in the refrigerator before adding the cream, keeps forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I looked at many recipes before I settled on this one. This recipe is quick, easy, delicious, and uses many common household ingredients. I did make made a few changes to the recipe. To the sauce, I added extra garlic and used half parmesean and half romano cheese. I also used heavy whipping cream because that's what I had at home, but will probably use 1/2 and 1/2 next time to make it a little healthier. I used farfalle pasta and added boiled chicken, then poured the sauce over it all, tossed it, and enjoyed. Everyone loved it. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Amazing! Before the last step, (heat & thicken) I sauteed shallots and baby portabellas in a tbsp. of butter and poured the cream sauce into the pan to heat & mix. I also used only a tbsp. of olive oil & half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADAMEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This recipe is fabulous and just what I was looking for. Perfect over pasta with fresh chopped tomatoes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
Good recipe to add to. I made a few additions- sauteed mushrooms, diced tomatoes, cubed chicken, and a little tomato sauce. I poured it over fettuccini. I was so pleased with the results, I used the recipe for my wedding entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I haven't received feedback from my family yet, but I love this sauce. I used farfalle pasta. The recipe provides enough flexibility to add other good things, such as chicken, shrimp, tomatoes, mushrooms, etc. I ate my first bowl without adding anything and it was "just right." Then, I put an 8 ounce chicken breast in the microwave and tasted a few bites with chicken. Wow. Even better, it was. I recommend that you wait until the sauce is almost done before adding salt and pepper. You probably won't need much seasoning. It looks like I need to get ready to grow basil again this year. I can see that I'll be having this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Yum!! My husband ate so much he had lie to down afterwards. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Simple and delicious. Will make you wish you grew even more basil. Big hit with the whole family. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Sparrow Bush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States