Basil Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This so great as is...the only changes I make is to use almonds instead of pine nuts (cost) and sometimes add sundried tomaotes at the end. This sauce is great over any pasta, but esp. tortelini or raviloli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
good! I added a touch of flour to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This was awesome. I had no cream and didn't want to hit the store, so I substituted half of a package of lowfat cream cheese and 1/2 cup of 1% milk heated and mixed smooth. I'm sure it would be much better with the cream, but at least this was low in fat. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Very good, basic recipe. You may find yourself adding more of this and that for the flavor and consistency to get exactly where you want it, but it's also very good as written. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was phenominal! My fiance didn't care for it very much, but I thought it was awesome. I've never had pesto before, and I'm in love with it now! I followed the recipe exactly and used 12 oz of linguini. The only thing that was difficult is that I do not have a food processor. I used a blender, and it was a bit time consuming, as I had to keep shutting it off and pushing the leaves down to try and chop them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lili Goehring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I scaled by half but used closer to 1 1/2 cups of basil to use up what I had left. It does need salt but I don't salt because there is enough in the parm that gets grated on top. Tossed with pennette and topped with garlic butter sautéed bay scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Sorry, we didn't really enjoy this. It was pretty bland. At the end, I added lemon juice and salt in an attempt to give it more flavor-still wouldn't make again. Loved the spring green color though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I made this for a pasta and chicken dish. I made the pesto a day in advance (storing in the fridge) so that I would have less prep while guests were here: all I had to do was add it to the cream. It worked great and received positive feedback from the guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is GREAT! I didn't have lite cream so I used heavy cream it was delish! I just made it for the 2nd time tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I've made people into pesto believers with this sauce (though when you add cream to anything, it's pretty much a winner). Awesome with chicken, could even work with italian sausage. So good and well worth the work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States