Basil Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I didn't have a food processor, so I used the magic bullet and it worked perfectly! This sauce is AMAZING! We put it on Gnocchi! Mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lela

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort White, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I grow basil in my Aerogarden, and this is an excellent way to use it. It was a big hit. I added cooked, bite-sized pieces of chicken and served it over spaghetti noodles. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I'm only giving this 4 stars because I had to make some adjustments since I didn't have some of the ingredients and so I was never able to make the exact recipe. However, I used most of the ingredients and did the directions and it was very delicious! I didn't have any nuts so I omitted the nuts. I added more parmesan cheese. I didn't have any cream so I ended up making a rue with flour and butter, heating it with a tbsp of cream cheese and added 1%milk. I also added a little cornstarch to thicken it up a little more and it turned out great! I put it over noodles and chicken. So, in the end it was the base recipe with just a few adjustments. I definitely recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
crazy good! I made it for my mom she adored it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef M.

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bayport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I used this more as guidelines and my version came out very well. I wanted to double it for 2 boxes of pasta, so I used about 1 1/2 pints of half & half, (I also cheated majorly and bought premade pesto) 2 containers of pesto, 1/2 a container of ricotta cheese, about 1 cup grated parmesan cheese, and then after stirring it FOREVER and it not really thickening, I threw in enough flour for it to thicken to my liking. I put this over some sauteed eggplant, onion, mushrooms, & peapods and tossed it with fettuccini and it was delightful... especially for my lactose intolerant hubby :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This was an easy and tasty quick meal to make. My 11 year-old nephew made this for his family, as I assisted him in the kitchen. I might suggest 3 cloves of garlic for next time, as it was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Long Island Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Simply fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Very time consuming. Followed directions except used less cream. Extra parmesan cheese and cayanne pepper will help the bland taste. I ran out of parmesan so I used alfredo sauce which is parmesan and cream and it worked perfect. I sauteed mushrooms with chicken. I topped it off with drained diced can tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
PERFECT! Thank you, thank you ! Thought I was the only one on earth looking for a creamy Basil Sauce !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malverne, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Incredible! This is the second time I have made it to put over chicken and we just sop up the extras off our plate with the rolls. I use fresh basil from my garden. Couldn't get any better! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States