Basil Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Yummy! Yummy! Yummy! I had a ton of basil from my garden I wasn't sure what to with, when I came across this recipe. Made it with no changes and is delicious!! Perfect on pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
not too bad not too bad! It does taste a little flat to me, but its highly likely that I ended up substituting some of the fresh basil with dried (oops!) it did take more than 5 minutes to thicken up for me though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Yum! I've never made pesto before and this recipe is a good reason to make it again! I used almonds b/c it's what I had on hand. I took 1/4 c. of the pesto (before adding salt, pepper, and cream) and mixed it with 2 oz. of butter and 2 oz. of cream cheese (from another reviewer's suggesiton). It made the most delicious spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This is the first time pesto turned out for me - I like the cream base. I used my stick blender and sunflower seeds (raw). It was awesome and my family all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Awesome - the only way to go with Pesto. the cream really makes it. I've used raw almonds in place of pine nuts and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngS

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
very delicious. sooo good. yum. i have never tasted anything so good in my life. i am gonna get some more! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Amazing. Absolutely yummy! Had it over baked salmon and we devoured it! We are using the balance over pasta tomorrow with the balance of the flaked salmon. Healthy and tasty...go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This was a very tasty, easy sauce to make. I followed other suggestions here and thickened the sauce with a rue of melted butter and flour. I also used half and half instead of light cream simply because I didn't have the cream on hand. Very similar in flavor to Maggiano's Basil Cream Sauce that they serve over ravioli in their restaurants. I'll be honest and say that next time I believe I will roast the garlic cloves before adding them to the basil since the raw garlic flavor was a bit overpowering at first. My family loves fresh grated parmesan cheese so I added extra to the sauce and then grated some over top of our ravs. I could see serving this to guests with pan seared chicken and pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbywbob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Absolutely delicious!!!! and so easy to make :) those fresh basil leaves mixing in with pine nut pieces really created a powerful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Not an especially impressive sauce. Good because it's quick and easy, but you may as well buy some pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States