Basil Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This sauce is really good. I added shrimp and poured it over wheat elbows. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
Very good recipe. I blanched the basil first by submerging it in boiling water for 15 seconds, then plunging it into ice water, then draining. This helps to maintain the green color. I'm using it tonight on top of butternut squash. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I made a few modifications to this sauce; I doubled the garlic and added crushed red pepper and 8 ounces of fresh roasted (and peeled) green chile. The fresh green chile might be difficult to find (the canned stuff is better than nothing, I guess)- it's a staple in New Mexico but rarely anywhere else. I believe the Anaheim green chile is the next closest thing. I served it over cheese & spinach tortellini with sliced-up grilled chicken from the night before. It was a definite hit - I'll be making it again soon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
I followed the recipe exactly and found this sauce to be wonderful! Easy to make and very tasty. We tossed it with pasta and shrimp ~ yummy! We will definitely be making this recipe again. Thanks for creating it! (I love this website).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
A great basic pesto recipe (which can be modified to your taste) with cream. I add some heavy cream (for flavour) and top up the rest with milk, to make it a little healthier. It's very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
IT WAS GREAT!!! I loved it, very very good. I will use this one over and over again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This is an excellent recipe!! I find that using Romano cheese instead of Parm. works awsome!! I also love to throw a couple more cloves of garlic gives it an extra bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
The sauce had a nice smooth consistency and basil has such a lovely flavor, but I think this is a better starter sauce. . . it was a bit bland for my taste. will reavulate once i perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIELTTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I was really looking forward to this dish.Unfortunately I was very disappointed.In my opinion the sauce had a foul taste as well as a foul odor.My husband who eats everything said he did'nt think it had any flavor--will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
This was great! My husband can't have tomatoes so I'm always looking for different sauces to use with pasta. I made stuffed pasta shells the other night and made this sauce for him and a marinara sauce for everyone else. When they tasted his, everyone wanted some of the basil cream sauce! Thanks Ayanna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fair Faye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States