Basil Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
Very good, but I made a few changes: I pounded out the chicken a bit for quick even cooking: I dipped the chicken in egg instead of milk; I added chopped garlic while the chicken was cooking and to the sauce; I used half-n-half instead of heavy cream; and I used more chicken broth and less cream to cut some of the fat. I stuck with the original recipe for the most part - it is really very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I baked the chicken in the oven and doubled the sauce as another reviewer suggested so I'd have enough to go over angel hair pasta. This sauce was so heavy I should have done linguine! It was rich, thick and very creamy. All I had to add to give it a little more flavor was 1 tsp. of minced garlic from the jar. My husband was looking for more of a tomato basil cream sauce, so I added a 14.5 oz. can of italian sytle diced tomatoes to some of it and a little sugar and we had it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This is really good. Unfortunately I made some changes to the recipe to suit our tastes (hence the 4 star rating). I pounded out the chicken breasts for even cooking and added some fresh garlic (like another reviewer suggested). I also omitted the pimentos (didn't have any). I added just a splash of dry white wine. Fabulous over some noodles. Will definately make again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
You don’t know me, but you’ve gotta believe me -this is good. I mean REAL good. I modified it a tad, starting with using the standard breading method of flour, egg and (seasoned) bread crumbs. I browned the chicken in a mixture of butter and olive oil to reduce the burning point temperature. Once I browned it thoroughly I cut into it and noticed it was still a little pink on the inside – no problem, I just threw it in a 325 degree oven while I prepared the sauce and cooked some pasta. While I only made two chicken breasts, I hated to waste the better portion of an 8 oz. carton of chicken broth and half a carton of cream, so I thought what the heck, I’ll use it all! I added the chicken broth to the pan first, reduced it drastically, then added the entire carton of cream and let it go until the sauce had reduced to a thick and velvety smoothness. I added the Parmesan and pimiento just before serving and topped the chicken with a basil chiffonade rather than stirring it into the sauce. The chicken was tender and moist, the coating dry, golden and crispy (rather than mushy and soggy), complemented by the luxurious, rich sauce. The pimiento was a nice touch, subtly enhancing the sauce. I’m glad I had the extra sauce - it was perfect for some nice pasta! Since this is a dinner a little on the rich side, I chose to serve it with just a few pattypan squash, lightly seasoned with butter, salt and pepper. At the risk of sounding corny, this was a GLORIOUS dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Here are my modifications: I cut my chicken breasts into bite-sized chunks, fried them in butter with 4 cloves of minced garlic. I also added broccoli and used whole pimentos from the mexican food section (much cheaper) sliced in strips. I substituted half and half for the heavy cream, used 2 tsp dried basil, doubled the sauce and added a little corn starch to thicken it. I served it over fettucini. Overall, it was good...my family liked it a lot, but personally, I thought it was more work than I like (frying the chicken, then setting it aside, grating the parmesean, etc.) I imagine it would be very good with fresh basil and maybe some fresh tomatoes (nice summer dish)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I'm on Atkins, so this was perfect for me. I did add garlic to the butter as I cooked the chicken, which I coated w/parmesan-not flour. And instead of pimentos (which I didn't have), I used chopped jalapenos. JUST RIGHT! (For me-if you don't like spicy food, stick w/the pimentos.) Great recipe to build on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This was superbe - gourmet restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
No, I didn't follow the recipe; but I learned a few things so you might want to read this anyway - even if you make faces at us who don't follow recipes to a "T" :) I didn't make the chicken - at all. I thought I'd try the sauce first. The sauce - well, I subbed half & half. I used 2c thinking it was going to be fabulous - & so I could have half with basil, half without. I just melted a little butter, added the half & half & heated. Added a cup of parmesan & almost 1/4t freshly ground black pepper. Stirred till melted, which takes longer than I expected; but maybe I just added it too soon. I read in another review, not from this recipe, about using mozzarella as a thickener instead of cornstarch or flour. Hmmm, I tried it. 'Didn't work on this one. I added a half cup of shreddded mozzarella & still had to thicken with 2T cornstarch. Maybe the mozzarella trick would be a trick for when your first choice didn't thicken enough. Sooo, it was good then. Nice & thick & yum. I added a third cup or so fresh basil to a cup of the sauce. I love basil. I love it. I love it, love it, love it; but it just didn't do anything for me in this recipe. I wanted it, too. What a great idea - creaminess of parmesan & fresh basil. 'Sounded great, but notsomuch. Oh yeah, I'll eat it; but prefer it without my precious basil. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Excellent! I didn't have pimentos, so I diced half of a red bell pepper that I had, added a package of fresh mushrooms that I had, but other than that followed it exactly. It didn't need anything else, but I had those 2 things that I needed to use. It was excellent!! I served it over orzo pasta. I mixed half the sauce with the pasta, and then topped the pasta with the chicken, and then poured the remaining sauce over the chicken. Was soooo good and did look and taste like a restaurant cooked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baton Rouge Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I think that this was very good and quick to prepare. I made some changes on the prep though. I did not bread the chicken. Instead, I seasoned it with Lawry's salt and pepper and browned it in 1 Tbsp butter and 1Tbsp olive oil. Once the chicken in browned on both sides, cover the chicken and cook 10 min until juices run clear. While the chicken was browning, I crushed 3 cloves of garlic and let it infuse in the oil and butter. I picked these out before going forward with the sauce. I used 1% milk with cornstarch instead of cream and this worked well. I think that next time I will sub sun dried tomatoes for the pimentos because I wasn't crazy about the flavor. Loved the base recipe and will make again! Oh, I served it over bow-tie pasta with garlic toast. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States