Basil Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I baked the chicken in the oven and doubled the sauce as another reviewer suggested so I'd have enough to go over angel hair pasta. This sauce was so heavy I should have done linguine! It was rich, thick and very creamy. All I had to add to give it a little more flavor was 1 tsp. of minced garlic from the jar. My husband was looking for more of a tomato basil cream sauce, so I added a 14.5 oz. can of italian sytle diced tomatoes to some of it and a little sugar and we had it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Fantastic!! My husband loved it also. I liked the recipe the way it is, but next time to thicken up the sauce I will add a little more butter after removing the chicken and flour before I add my chicken broth. I also added fresh garlic with the pimentos to add flavor for my taste. Love everything with garlic! Tossed some more parmesan on the chicken before serving and made roasted asparagus as a side dish. I will definitely try again. Thanks for the great and easy recipe. Can't wait to make it for my in-laws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Utt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Everyone in my family loved it. Did not have any cream, so I used skim milk instead and just thickened it with a bit of flour(dissolve about a tablespoon of flour into 1 cup of milk before adding to sauce). Also added about 1/2 tsp garlic powder and used dried basil. Served over homemade noodles (what an experiment!) DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Excellent! The sauce is awesome! Easy to make and great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
absolutely delicious! fresh basil is a MUST! great flavor. i cut my chicken breast into strips, served over the pasta & poured the cream sauce over it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is my favorite AS IS!! I actually get cravings for it, even the kids like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This was fairly quick and easy to make. Unfortunately, I didn't have any pimento so I just added some chopped yellow onion. I agree with some of the other reviewers that sun dried tomatoes would be excellent in this as well. The sauce was so wonderful that I licked that pan I made it in. Next time I may make more sauce and serve on a bed of noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I didn't have fresh basil so I used 2 Tbsp dried. Probably could do slightly less next time. I used fat free half and half. The sauce was a little thick, but I stirred it in with egg noodles and spread some over the chicken. It was a hit at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
We really liked your recipe. The only things I've changed, was leaving out the pimentos and adding garlic to your recipe and it turned out very good tasting. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I got this recipe a few years ago from here and have used it several times since...its become something my family requests from me. I've even subsituted frozen breaded breast strips when I'm running short on time. I LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States