Basil Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
The only reason I'm giving this 4 stars is because it wasn't particularly attractive by the end! The sauce crumbled the breading and made it very damp. However, the dish was a total "5" on flavour! My brother said it tasted like KFC. It was very tender and the sauce was great. I didn't have grated parmesan so I used mozzarella, and that was good. I used part dried basil and part fresh, also good. I used part whipping cream and part 2% milk, which worked fine too. I ended up doubling the chicken broth though, as the original amount was not enough and immediately soaked right into the chicken breading and disappeared. I also thinly sliced and sauteed red peppers in place of the pimento peppers. I would make this again most likely, but not for company because of the appearance of the dish. Definitely try it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I hate pimentos, so I left them out and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I've made this twice now. once with dried basil cuz i didnt have fresh, and once with roasted red peppers cuz i couldn't find pimentos. Both times it was EXCELLENT!!! Made it last night for friends and they raved! thank you for an EASY and fantastic recipe!! TRY THIS ONE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
this was amazing! i didnt expect much since the ingredients seem pretty minimal and simple but i tried it and was blown away. only change i did was use light cream and add italian seasoning in my plain bread crumbs. will make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Me, my husband, and our 11 year old son all loved this! I didn't have any pimentos on hand so I chopped about 1/2 of a red bell pepper and cooked with the chicken. We had it with rice, but pasta would be great too. This is a keeper in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
My husband felt the pimentos overwhelmed the sauce and one of my kids would not eat it but I thought it was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Wow, yummy! My 20-month-old and 4-yr-old had a full plate of seconds. This is a favorite for us, thanks! I added 1 clove minced garlic and a splash of chardonnay I had on hand (hm, I always have it on hand). I think it would be excellent with or without the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This was delicious. I didn't have chicken breasts, only legs and thighs, but they worked great (I didn't bread them). I served the chicken with some of the sauce drizzled on it and put the rest in a gravy boat to have as extra and to pour on the couscous I made to go with it. I'm still thinking about the sauce. Yummmm....I may add mushrooms to the sauce next time, but I love mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
The chicken alone without sauce was outstanding. It was moist inside and crispy outside. The kids loved it. I doubled the sauce since I was cooking for husband and I plus 7 kids. My kids didn't eat much of the sauce, so I had lots leftover. The only changes I made to the recipe were adding a little salt and garlic powder to the breadcrumbs and using seeded tomato instead of the pimento. The sauce was very rich and very yummy! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States