Basil Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Tasty but the basil overpowered the parmesan cheese a bit too much. I'd lessen the amount of basil and thicken the sauce a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Another winner. This one came out great. So easy to make and so good. I had to make a few changes to suit my needs. I skipped dipping the chicken in the milk. I really don't think this is a necessary step. I also used seasoned breadcrumbs and 1% milk instead of heavy cream, as those are what I had. I also omitted the pimentos, since we don't like them. Lastly, I added extra Parmesan and some Romano cheeses. It was so tasty with some mashed potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fluffybomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
We recently had a Cream Chicken Cookoff Marathon at our house. This one rated very high!!! Very flavourful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This meal is simply incredible! It taste like something you would get at a fine Italian Restaurant. The only slight problem I had is that I couldn't get the bredding to stick to the chicken. I think next time I'll skip the milk and dredge it through egg instead. I also used Italain breadcrumbs and added some mushrooms too. I served over angelhair pasta, with crusty Italian bread. I'm no chef, this is one of the best meals I have ever made. My husband was even impressed, he took one bite and said it tasted like something you would get at Olive Garden. This will be something I make again and again, delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I used marinated roasted capsicums instead of pimentos but the sauce still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phuong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
I had finished shopping and was exhausted! I did not feel like cooking at all but knew that dinner would be expected. I had bought chicken breasts that day and quickly came on allrecipes for a quick recipe. This is FANTASTIC!! I didn't have parmesan cheese, only the granulated stuff by Kraft. So, I added this cheese to the crumb mix along with onion powder. I only had a small container of longlife cream in the fridge and dried basil which I used 3/4 tsp but it all came together so well. I put in grated sharp cheddar into the sauce and everyone loved it! I served it with a salad and ranch dressing. This was so easy and will become a staple weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Good Recipe... I added garlic powder and red pepper flakes to the bread crumbs... Loved the chicken! However, there was something about the cream sauce.. something a bit too strong and not enough of something else.. will try again and try to figure it out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coronach, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Ljugarn, Gotlands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Gotta love a good cream sauce recipe, and this is deffinetly one. So tasty and rich. I served it over fettucini noodles, and it went great. Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
wow - this recipe was the bomb. lessened the pimentos a bit and basil by 1/2 tbsp. added little more cream and broth than called for. added little garlic salt to chicken before breading and minced garlic to sauce. served over buttered fettuchini. more salt and pepper to taste. used dry basil and tasted like heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This was a tasty variation to having chicken breasts. Although the sauce was too thin to my liking, next time I will add some flour to it. I didn't have fresh basil on hand, so I used dried basil and it turned out fine. I didn't add the pimento's (we don't care for them) and added some garlic powder and salt to taste which made the sauce even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States