Basil Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This is really good! It is quick and easy, too. I wish I'd had enough ingredients to double the sauce though, because I would have liked to have had more of it to go on my pasta. I wouldn't necessarily make any other changes to the recipe, but it does seem to be a pretty basic cream sauce that could be modified to fit your family's taste (different herbs, etc). Oh, I did use half and half (instead of cream) to cut back on the fat a little. The sauce looks so nice - it could easily be dressed up to serve at a nice dinner. The pimentos add a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I love basil and anything with cream sauce but I didnt think this was 5 stars. It was ok, but probably wont make again. I just didnt like all the flavors together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This was good and very easy. Great for a quick and easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This was very good, but very rich. Next time I might serve it over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
For my tastes, I cut out the pimentos. I also used jar'd basil instead of fresh and used pre-made breadcrumbs. Those were the only changes and the chicken came out delicious. It tastes like something you would get at a fancy restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Whole family loved it. I used chicken cutlets as I like how thin they are and how quick they cook. Overall..a keeper. My husband asked that I put it on our rotation:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This is really good. Unfortunately I made some changes to the recipe to suit our tastes (hence the 4 star rating). I pounded out the chicken breasts for even cooking and added some fresh garlic (like another reviewer suggested). I also omitted the pimentos (didn't have any). I added just a splash of dry white wine. Fabulous over some noodles. Will definately make again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROBANDKI
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
We enjoyed this meal, all the colors together looked beautiful...it was missing something though...next time I will add some salt and more basil since the flavor wasn't quite strong enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Tasty but the basil overpowered the parmesan cheese a bit too much. I'd lessen the amount of basil and thicken the sauce a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Another winner. This one came out great. So easy to make and so good. I had to make a few changes to suit my needs. I skipped dipping the chicken in the milk. I really don't think this is a necessary step. I also used seasoned breadcrumbs and 1% milk instead of heavy cream, as those are what I had. I also omitted the pimentos, since we don't like them. Lastly, I added extra Parmesan and some Romano cheeses. It was so tasty with some mashed potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fluffybomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States