Basil Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I made twice as much of the cream sauce and served the chicken over risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I think that this was very good and quick to prepare. I made some changes on the prep though. I did not bread the chicken. Instead, I seasoned it with Lawry's salt and pepper and browned it in 1 Tbsp butter and 1Tbsp olive oil. Once the chicken in browned on both sides, cover the chicken and cook 10 min until juices run clear. While the chicken was browning, I crushed 3 cloves of garlic and let it infuse in the oil and butter. I picked these out before going forward with the sauce. I used 1% milk with cornstarch instead of cream and this worked well. I think that next time I will sub sun dried tomatoes for the pimentos because I wasn't crazy about the flavor. Loved the base recipe and will make again! Oh, I served it over bow-tie pasta with garlic toast. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lestoby
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
I'd do it again, but I found it a little overpowering in basil flavor. I did use pimentos, but I am not a big fan of those either. On the other hand, I made this primarily for my husband who loves FLAVOR and he thought this was great! Followed suggestions of cutting into bite size pieces - cooked for 20-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
OK THIS WAS WONDERFUL!! I DIDN'T HAVE MUSHROOMS AND SERVED OVER WHITE RICE. NOT THE HEALTHIEST MEAL BUT MY HUSBAND WAS VERY IMPRESSED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I'm on Atkins, so this was perfect for me. I did add garlic to the butter as I cooked the chicken, which I coated w/parmesan-not flour. And instead of pimentos (which I didn't have), I used chopped jalapenos. JUST RIGHT! (For me-if you don't like spicy food, stick w/the pimentos.) Great recipe to build on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
My husband and I loved this recipe. I left the chicken breast whole, and I used dried basil rather than fresh. I think it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
It all sounded great together. It was okay but I think if I make it again I would cut the chicken into bite size pieces and serve it over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This recipe is like a restaurant dish. At first I was a little hesitant with the pimentos, but after tasting it, I would definitely make again using the full amt called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This was really good! It surprised me! The only thing I changed was that I used skim milk thickened with about a tablespoon of corn starch. I ended up adding more milk in the pan to thin it out a little. You can adjust it to your liking (the thickness). You DO NOT have to use cream, though, which is great because I absolutely refuse. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Nice, different sauce. I left out the pimentos though. I would make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States