Basil Chicken over Angel Hair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Absolutely LOVE this recipe! My husband and 2 yr old love it too! I've made it several times, several different ways. I've used canned tomatoes (drained) and even canned chicken in a pinch. This recipe is so versatile! Definitely going into "my favorites" cook book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is a yummy and super easy recipe although I admit I did not follow it exactly. I did not use fresh tomatoes and used 2 cans of basil and oregano diced tomatoes. Based on other reviews, I drained one of the cans of tomatoes but would not drain it next time. Next time I will make it with a 3rd can of tomatoes. I did add some sugar to make the tomatoes less tangy. I cooked the chicken in the garlic and onion but I found it to be bland and will consider making it with no chicken or marinating the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This dish was okay, but it tasted too bland. Would probably add more spices to make it a little more tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GPhiBQT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
One of the best one dish recipes I have ever tried. Everyone whoever tries this recipe, enjoys it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is a good recipe but I don't think sauteeing it for only 5mins would be sufficient. The longer it is simmerin', the better it tastes!! I also added some sugar to make the flavor of tomatoes less harsh. Then I breaded and fried the chicken in small pieces in olive oil. I think the oil and the hot pepper sauce help the flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emu123

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
We liked it. Hubby, for some strange reason, will not eat chunks of tomato, but he will eat tomato sauce(?) anyway, I used one 8oz can of tomato sauce instead of the chopped tomato. I also am not a fan of spicy, so I left that out, but put hot sauce on the table. Hubby loved the spicy and was very happy with the hot sauce. I didn't love love love it, but it was plenty good! A solid 4 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Ellen Pedroza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Delicious and fresh!! We didn't feel like chicken so we added Aidell's garlic/artichoke sausage. I also didn't really have hot sauce on hand so I subbed a splash of white wine. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Used raw chicken legs (salted and peppered, browned quickly with onion and 2 cloves garlic, then added one can italian-style stewed tomatoes, plus a little water poured into the can and then the pot, and plenty of dried basil and the pepper sauce. I simmered it (lid on, then off) for at least 30 minutes, turning chicken a few times. Would be good with chicken broth or white wine. Served over whole wheat angel hair. Made a decent amount of sauce, for just one can of tomatoes. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This recipe is a winner. I used my leftover rotisserie chicken & it was delicious. I have fresh basil & tomatoes growing in the garden & it all came together perfectly. Even my picky husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This was a great recipe. I did make a few additions to add more flavor though. I used double the garlic and used a can of Hunt's Fire Roasted diced tomatoes instead of the regular tomatoes. Also, I added a hand full of mozzarella cheese & parmesan cheese just before I took it off the stove. I buttered the noodles (just a bit) before topping with the chicken mixture & it was delish! The family ate it all up! Already added to my recipe box:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 705) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Chicken Pasta

See how to make a super-simple, creamy baked chicken and pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States