Basil Chicken over Angel Hair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Not bad. I found this to be a tad bland for my liking (if you are looking for a hearty pasta entree, this is NOT it!), but beyond that, what REALLY stood out to me was the bright, fresh flavors and genius simplicity of this dish. The thermometer nearly reached 90 degrees this weekend. I couldn't have found a better weather-appropriate recipe - not only is this light on the stomach, it's made with seasonally available ingredients and can easily be prepared on the stovetop (thus eliminating the need to use my oven in this heat wave). NOTE: For a nice change of pace, shrimp would be FANTASTIC in this (and a better protein option than chicken, IMHO). Shrimp are delicate, light and fresh and would be a perfect substitute if you have them handy. Just add a crusty loaf of bread and some good wine, and you're are set! All in all, this was yummy, but lacking the WOW factor I was looking for. Thanks anyways, Ms. Mercadante! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This was amazing!!!!! I don't typically comment on stuff, but it was THAT good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Husband loved it as well so it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SG-cooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I didn't even have leftovers to take to work the next day! It didn't make me feel bloated like regular spaghetti. Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This was just ok to me. Only one of my four children liked it and my husband wasn't thrilled either. It was too bland for us. I follwed the directions as written. It is definitely missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Sooo good! In a pinch, I substituted 2 cans of petite diced tomatoes for the fresh version. Still turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Dr. The Ivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This has a wonderful flavor! I added a chopped green bell pepper and threw in a handful of spinach with the chicken. I like that it doesn't take much time. I'll definitely make it again, and I think it's going to be one of my family's favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I made this recipe for my family with high hopes. My family HATED it and I was very very very disappointed. I definitely will be removing this from my recipe box. I strongly don't recommend this. >:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
If this was any easier you couldn't call it "cooking". Super simple and very tasty. Add a salad and you've got a great quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Wells Mahoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrisville, Vermont, USA
Living In: Millbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
5 stars with changes: I made a few changes and this turned out so delicious. I sauteed onions and garlic in olive oil and browned cut up chicken in that. Then I added chicken broth, a can of diced tomatoes (with oregano, etc) and white wine and the other ingredients (I used 1 tsp crushed pepper instead of hot sauce) and I added some black pepper and a teaspoon of sugar (left fresh basil out until last 10 min). Then I let it simmer for maybe an hour. I used mini penne and mixed it all together and topped with shredded parm. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 719) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Chicken Pasta

See how to make a super-simple, creamy baked chicken and pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States