Basil Chicken over Angel Hair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This was a light and delicious dish - a really good combination of flavors. I, per other reviewer suggestions, tinkered with the ingredients a bit: upped the garlic to 3 cloves, used around 1/2 cup fresh basil, added in some oregano, garlic powder, black pepper, and red pepper flakes. I didn't have pre-cooked chicken, so I cubed and sauteed the chicken with the onion and garlic (and spices) until cooked, added in the chopped tomatoes and a little bit of chicken stock to make is "sauce-y" Simmered for 15-20 minutes and everything was delicious! A nice little kick from the hot sauce (used a habanero sauce) and wonderful fresh flavors. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Fantastic! I couldn't believe the awesome flavor of this dish. It is very easy to make, not time- consuming, and the combination of ingredients make the dish just right. If you don't have fresh basil on hand, you can always use dried basil leaves (which was what I ended up using), as they created a wonderful aroma and flavor. I will definitely be repeating this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Excellent! I used all fresh ingredients, so prep was slightly time consuming. It was well worth it, this dish was very fresh tasting and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Caswell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Not bad. I found this to be a tad bland for my liking (if you are looking for a hearty pasta entree, this is NOT it!), but beyond that, what REALLY stood out to me was the bright, fresh flavors and genius simplicity of this dish. The thermometer nearly reached 90 degrees this weekend. I couldn't have found a better weather-appropriate recipe - not only is this light on the stomach, it's made with seasonally available ingredients and can easily be prepared on the stovetop (thus eliminating the need to use my oven in this heat wave). NOTE: For a nice change of pace, shrimp would be FANTASTIC in this (and a better protein option than chicken, IMHO). Shrimp are delicate, light and fresh and would be a perfect substitute if you have them handy. Just add a crusty loaf of bread and some good wine, and you're are set! All in all, this was yummy, but lacking the WOW factor I was looking for. Thanks anyways, Ms. Mercadante! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This was amazing!!!!! I don't typically comment on stuff, but it was THAT good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Husband loved it as well so it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SG-cooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I didn't even have leftovers to take to work the next day! It didn't make me feel bloated like regular spaghetti. Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This was just ok to me. Only one of my four children liked it and my husband wasn't thrilled either. It was too bland for us. I follwed the directions as written. It is definitely missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Sooo good! In a pinch, I substituted 2 cans of petite diced tomatoes for the fresh version. Still turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Dr. The Ivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This has a wonderful flavor! I added a chopped green bell pepper and threw in a handful of spinach with the chicken. I like that it doesn't take much time. I'll definitely make it again, and I think it's going to be one of my family's favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 711) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Chicken Pasta

See how to make a super-simple, creamy baked chicken and pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States