Basil Chicken over Angel Hair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kristi Goulette Lozensky
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Awesome flavor, quick and simple to make. I did use 2 cans of basil, garlic and oregano diced tomatoes with their juices instead of fresh tomatoes other than that I followed the recipe. The only reason I gave this a 4 stars is because the sauce was watery, maybe I will use less of the juices and let it reduce before serving. I will definately be making this again.(Update: I did make this again and still used 2 cans of basil, garlic and oregano diced tomatoes but drained the juices from one can and then while cooking I let the sauce reduce until it was thick enough and not watery.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Goulette Lozensky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I love this recipe. I used fresh garden tomatoes, tripled the garlic, added dried oregano, and omitted salt. Because the tomato mixture doesn't really make a sauce, I added 1 cup of white wine and just under a cup of chicken broth. Let everything simmer and it was simply delicious and light. The grated parmesan cheese is an essential finishing touch. I will definitely include this dish in my regular rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
This was very tasty. I didn't have fresh tomatoes on hand so I added a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes. I'm sure this is even better with fresh tomatoes. If using canned tomatoes, I think 1 tsp. sugar would help cut the tang of the tomatoes. My husband enjoyed this so I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I absolutely LOVED this!!! (and so did the rest of the girls!) I have to admit that i didnt really follow the measurements at all, i just kind of went guesstimated! I used a good amount of onions & chopped garlic cloves as well as hot pepper flakes. I also used diced tomatoes from a can and i thought it was perfect. Next time I will probably marinate the chicken in olive oil & fresh basil to give it more flavor. Other than that, not only did it taste fantastic but it looked fabulous as well!! (it even was good as leftovers the next day!!!) *I made this again, and this time marinated the chicken overnight in Sun Dried Tomato dressing. It was a great touch! Also, I used Hunt's diced tomatoes with Basil, Garlic & Oregeno flavor, it definelty contributes to the overall taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
We like basil, so I put in extra -- probably around 1 1/2 cups. I'll probably use a red pepper flakes, or a sprinkle of cayenne next time. I think our hot pepper sauce has lost its kick, so this dish didn't have any peppery zip, but the overall flavor was great. I don't think this would have been nearly as good with canned tomatoes, so we will save this recipe and make it again during fresh tomato season. I can also see either substituting shrimp or tofu for the chicken, or leaving it out altogether, for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Like others, I did not have all fresh tomatoes on hand so I had to subsitute some canned diced tomatoes and I think that might be the way I'd make it again. I also added a little sugar to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by wifeyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This was very good, i used penne instead of angel hair. I sauted the onion with garlic and chicken, along with salt pepper, garlic powder, oregano, crushed red chile peppers, and added 1 14oz can of diced tomatoes with basil and garlic I put a pinch of sugar to cut the bitterness of the tomatoes. I tossed with the pasta and it was sooooo goood. Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This is amazing. Not heavy like a regular pasta sauce. I can't say I followed the measurements. Everything was eyeballed and wonderful. Didn't have enough fresh basil so added some extra dry. But wished I'd had more fresh. Had RomaGrape tomatoes needed using and one left over from my garden. Also added a few sundried as suggested by another 'viewer. Only hot sauce I had on hand was a Thai Garlic Chili Pepper Sauce that I might have gone just a little heavy on... hmmm good.... And to quote a favourite AD of mine... "I love to cook with wine. Sometimes I even add it to the food I cook." so I did. Added a big splash of white wine. Scrump-dili-oo-tious.!.!.! From the number of reviews (and no I didn't read ALL of them) this has been around for a long time. And gonna be around for more! Thank you Wendy for a "light" pasta dish. (sub shrimp next time?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
I love this recipe and we have it about once a month. I think it's great the way it is. I use Roma tomatoes since I've heard they are the best for cooking. I think people that don't like this recipe can't appreciate pasta that's not swimming in sauce. I don't think it's bland at all. My husband tends to like more sauce on everything so he's commented that it needs more sauce but he still loves the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I used fresh Roma tomatoes in this dish. Delicious! When I finished making it, I felt it needed a nice sauce to compliment the flavors. I ended up using the Alfredo sauce posted by Rebecca on this site.I served over linquini. What a yummy and filling meal. Thanks Wendy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 705) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Chicken Pasta

See how to make a super-simple, creamy baked chicken and pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States