Basil Chicken over Angel Hair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Delicious! My family really liked it. My only problem with the recipe is it did not realize it called for precooked chicken, so I had to stop and quickly cook up the chicken meat, so it took me a bit longer than expected to get it on the table. However, instead of using parmesan cheese at the end, I added asiago when I added the tomatoes, chicken, basil, salt and hot pepper sauce. I did this because I had some fresh asiago on hand. The dish was delicious, and all was well. A definite do-over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy_richelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Fantastic dish! I made mine extra healthy by using 100% Whole Grain Pasta and I substituted a half of a jalapeno for the hot sauce. To get a little more juice in the dish I drained about 95% of the water from the pasta and then mixed it all in together. I usually add the Parmesan Cheese directly to the noodles to give it a little more flavor. Excellent recipe! Will be a frequent for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I prepared as instructed (with the exception of using campellini pasta since I had it on hand, and using cayenne pepper instead of hot sauce). I thought the final product somewhat lacked flavor and was too pasta heavy. I will make again and hopefully correct these shortcomings by using: 1.25 to 1.5 times the chicken called for, 3 cloves garlic, 1 cup onion, and 4 cups finely diced roma tomatoes, and adding 1 teaspoon dried oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Very good. I added fresh basil at the end and it really livened it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight and it was wonderful! I seasoned it to my taste ignoring the spices the recipe called for. I chopped up a clove of garlic, 4 Roma tomatoes, a red onion, green bell pepper, red bell pepper, and one bunch of green onions, sautéed all of the above in olive oil and seasoned with garlic salt, a pinch of table salt, Badia Cajun seasoning, crushed red pepper flakes, basil, and a little cayenne. Sautéed it until it was soft, then slowly stirred in my wheat linguini pasta I had boiled. I mixed the pasta into the pan so that the pasta could absorb all of the seasonings on the bottom of the saucepan. While that was sitting, I seasoned the chicken breasts separately, this is important so that the chicken will have its own distinct flavor to add to the dish. In a separate pan I sliced yellow onions and sautéed them in olive oil seasoned with only garlic salt. Btw I seasoned the chicken with Badia complete seasoning and garlic salt. Once the yellow onions were browning I added the breasts and let them cook on both sides, before removing them from the pan I sliced the breasts into strips and let them cook a minute longer, then I poured the whole contents over the pasta and mixed them up. Fantastic meal! Yes it was a lot of work but worth it in the end. Other reviewers complained about not having enough sauce, the key is to use enough olive oil, it's healthy and coats the pasta well. Steamed some broccoli as a side dish and garlic bread. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This recipe is excellent! Flavorful and healthy. I added more garlic to the recipe, just because I like garlic, and it turned out well. Definitely going to add this recipe to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I would give this 5 stars, but my family wasn't all that impressed. I loved it, though. I definitely think fresh tomatoes made the difference. I didn't have fresh basil, so I just threw in a bunch of dried. Still delish. It made a nice light sauce that gave great flavor to the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Nolen Woods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
It was sooo good I wish I would've bought everything already chopped up tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great flavor & really light on the stomach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millimob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was kinda bland, but healthy at least! It just tasted like it was lacking something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montour, Iowa, USA
Living In: Basalt, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 710) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Chicken Pasta

See how to make a super-simple, creamy baked chicken and pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States