Basil Chicken over Angel Hair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight and it was wonderful! I seasoned it to my taste ignoring the spices the recipe called for. I chopped up a clove of garlic, 4 Roma tomatoes, a red onion, green bell pepper, red bell pepper, and one bunch of green onions, sautéed all of the above in olive oil and seasoned with garlic salt, a pinch of table salt, Badia Cajun seasoning, crushed red pepper flakes, basil, and a little cayenne. Sautéed it until it was soft, then slowly stirred in my wheat linguini pasta I had boiled. I mixed the pasta into the pan so that the pasta could absorb all of the seasonings on the bottom of the saucepan. While that was sitting, I seasoned the chicken breasts separately, this is important so that the chicken will have its own distinct flavor to add to the dish. In a separate pan I sliced yellow onions and sautéed them in olive oil seasoned with only garlic salt. Btw I seasoned the chicken with Badia complete seasoning and garlic salt. Once the yellow onions were browning I added the breasts and let them cook on both sides, before removing them from the pan I sliced the breasts into strips and let them cook a minute longer, then I poured the whole contents over the pasta and mixed them up. Fantastic meal! Yes it was a lot of work but worth it in the end. Other reviewers complained about not having enough sauce, the key is to use enough olive oil, it's healthy and coats the pasta well. Steamed some broccoli as a side dish and garlic bread. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This recipe is excellent! Flavorful and healthy. I added more garlic to the recipe, just because I like garlic, and it turned out well. Definitely going to add this recipe to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I would give this 5 stars, but my family wasn't all that impressed. I loved it, though. I definitely think fresh tomatoes made the difference. I didn't have fresh basil, so I just threw in a bunch of dried. Still delish. It made a nice light sauce that gave great flavor to the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Nolen Woods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
It was sooo good I wish I would've bought everything already chopped up tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great flavor & really light on the stomach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millimob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was kinda bland, but healthy at least! It just tasted like it was lacking something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montour, Iowa, USA
Living In: Basalt, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I had so much hope for this dish with all the fresh ingredients. I followed this recipe exactly and it fell short. It had no flavor and was bland. I ate it only because I felt like I had put a lot of hard work in this dish. I have no suggestions for improvements. I will just simply never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I tried this recipe and did not like it. I found it was a little bland and tasted somewhat bitter. I added tomato sauce to it and increased the parmesan cheese and that made it taste better. I will not make it again and removed it from my saved recipes. Steve
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Excellent. Although I added a 1/3 cup of white wine and a lot more garlic. I also used canned diced tomatoes (w/o the skins).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Fresh basil absolutely makes it. My angel hair stuck together, I should have used a bigger pot or a few drops of oil, but it tasted great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wondermom
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 706) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Chicken Pasta

See how to make a super-simple, creamy baked chicken and pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States