Basil Chicken over Angel Hair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Last night everyone asked for more. Súper good and fresh herbs taste. I did some changes, i sus not Have chicken so i used hillshire farm beef smoked sausage and add tomato Sauce orégano and two more garlic cloves but really was awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
What a great dish with a perfect balance of flavors. I made the dish as written except I used canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh and used dried basil instead of fresh. Using a conversion it ended up being 4 tsp. I thought, oh no basil overkill, but it wasn't at all. I also cooked the chicken mixture in the crock pot thinking the flavors would do well with the chicken slow cooked and I was so right! We all loved it and will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Elledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I was really happy with this recipe. It's a nice light sauce when I like to switch it up sometimes from a traditional rich spaghetti sauce. I didn't have onion or onion powder but I added more garlic and a splash of white wine vinegar, a little of the pasta water, sprinkled in crushed red pepper flake since I didn't have pepper sauce and let it simmer for a good 15 minutes. I served with garlic bread on the side. I will make this again. My family loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and 1 cup of red wine. Let it reduce for about 30-40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Delicious! My family really liked it. My only problem with the recipe is it did not realize it called for precooked chicken, so I had to stop and quickly cook up the chicken meat, so it took me a bit longer than expected to get it on the table. However, instead of using parmesan cheese at the end, I added asiago when I added the tomatoes, chicken, basil, salt and hot pepper sauce. I did this because I had some fresh asiago on hand. The dish was delicious, and all was well. A definite do-over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy_richelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Fantastic dish! I made mine extra healthy by using 100% Whole Grain Pasta and I substituted a half of a jalapeno for the hot sauce. To get a little more juice in the dish I drained about 95% of the water from the pasta and then mixed it all in together. I usually add the Parmesan Cheese directly to the noodles to give it a little more flavor. Excellent recipe! Will be a frequent for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I prepared as instructed (with the exception of using campellini pasta since I had it on hand, and using cayenne pepper instead of hot sauce). I thought the final product somewhat lacked flavor and was too pasta heavy. I will make again and hopefully correct these shortcomings by using: 1.25 to 1.5 times the chicken called for, 3 cloves garlic, 1 cup onion, and 4 cups finely diced roma tomatoes, and adding 1 teaspoon dried oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Very good. I added fresh basil at the end and it really livened it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight and it was wonderful! I seasoned it to my taste ignoring the spices the recipe called for. I chopped up a clove of garlic, 4 Roma tomatoes, a red onion, green bell pepper, red bell pepper, and one bunch of green onions, sautéed all of the above in olive oil and seasoned with garlic salt, a pinch of table salt, Badia Cajun seasoning, crushed red pepper flakes, basil, and a little cayenne. Sautéed it until it was soft, then slowly stirred in my wheat linguini pasta I had boiled. I mixed the pasta into the pan so that the pasta could absorb all of the seasonings on the bottom of the saucepan. While that was sitting, I seasoned the chicken breasts separately, this is important so that the chicken will have its own distinct flavor to add to the dish. In a separate pan I sliced yellow onions and sautéed them in olive oil seasoned with only garlic salt. Btw I seasoned the chicken with Badia complete seasoning and garlic salt. Once the yellow onions were browning I added the breasts and let them cook on both sides, before removing them from the pan I sliced the breasts into strips and let them cook a minute longer, then I poured the whole contents over the pasta and mixed them up. Fantastic meal! Yes it was a lot of work but worth it in the end. Other reviewers complained about not having enough sauce, the key is to use enough olive oil, it's healthy and coats the pasta well. Steamed some broccoli as a side dish and garlic bread. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 705) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Chicken Pasta

See how to make a super-simple, creamy baked chicken and pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States