Basil Chicken and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
I thought this recipe was fantastic!! Upon seeing what ingrediants were called for, I decided that a vegetable was needed to add color (and I like some sort a veggie in all my pastas). approx 2 min before the pasta was finished, I added half a bag of frozen chopped broccoli. Also, when the chicken and garlic was almost done, I sauted a half cup of red bell peppers and half cup of fresh sliced muchrooms. Finally, to thicken the sauce, I added 1/2 cup of parmesen cheese rather than the required 1/4 cup. I was worried that I might of altered the original recipe too much but rather when all was said and done...it was WONDERFUL!! My family won't eat it any other way. My 5 yr old always has 2 servings and even my picky brother in law (age 15)scarfed 2 helpings down...muchrooms and all. This is a great and easy recipe that anyone can do and if you want to add your fav veggie like I did, I think there is plenty of room for experimentation. I have made this many times since and my taste buds never tire of it. It is worth a try and then..try to see what you can do with it to make it better suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
498 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Super simple and quick. I've made it 3 times and made the following revisions: Definitely use fresh basil (2tsp dried should be 2tbs fresh), add a chopped shallot to perk up the flavor, and double the sauce. There's enough fat in this dish already so saute in olive oil instead of butter. To make the presentation more attractive, use tricolor rotini and throw in a couple generous handfuls of frozen petite peas during the last 3 minutes of boiling the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
I took the suggestions of making more sauce (added more garlic, *fresh* basil, cheese, cream) and last time added a bit (a really teeny bit) of sugar . I definitely recommend trying that. It takes the bitterness of the parm out of the dish. I think you can make it with just about any hearty pasta shape. I've made it with fusilli and farfelle and today am going to try it with pappardelle. Fantastic recipe. My thanks to Stacey and the other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I believe that this is actually a 4.5 star recipe, but still excellent! I made a few changes to suit health and ingredients I had on hand. Used spaghetti, which was nice, but next time I would try a rotini or similar. I had cooked the cubed chicken ahead of time, in onions and garlic- added flavor. I substituted a mix of Greek yogurt and milk for cream. I also doubled the amount of 'cream' I added- and it still wasn't enough! Next time, I'll triple it (the better to dip bread in)! This recipe made enough for 3 or 4 people. The taste of the sauce was excellent, and it was quick to make. Will make again! 2nd making comments: Perfect for a dinner party. Use rotini or similar because it’s perfect for the sauce. My earlier comments about needing more sauce are spot on – make much more sauce than you think you’ll need. Also, when making for guests, make sure that you do use a majority of cream or the sauce might curdle (example: I used 2 c cream and 1 c yogurt/milk mix and this was perfect, but a remake the next day with only yogurt/milk curdled. Tastes ok (not as good as w cream) but looked funny). Elegant tasting and easy. Be sure to use good Parmesan. Also, this would support a variety of veggies added to it – experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
This was very good. I agree that the sauce should be doubled. I also increased the parmesan cheese to 1/3 cup (we really like it). Fresh mushrooms would be a great addition. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
My husband and I really like this dish. I have made it several times, making slight changes each time. Last time was our favorite. I added yellow bell pepper, extra cheese, 2 cups heavy cream, and cajun seasoning. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This was excellent! Definitely a keeper. I doubled the sauce and used fresh basil and fresh parmesan. I also added a diced red bell pepper and diced tomatoes at the last minute. Very quick and easy to make. Can't wait to have again. Goes great with a glass of white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennerdell, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MENZIETO
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I added extra butter and omitted the cream!! I truly enjoyed this recipe!! It will be in rotation in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENZIETO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
The flavor of this is to die for!!!! I love how speedy this is to make. Great in a pinch and tasted like I cooked all day. I made this as a main dish. So for my family I used the 12 oz. of pasta but doubled the rest of the recipe. I may cut back just a tad on the cream next time. Thanks so much. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eric Meyer
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Like always, I read a few dozen reviews and look for commonality for what works and doens't work. In this case it was "more sauce". Here are all the mods and it went over great: -A lil cajun to the dice chicken prior to pan fry -Olive oil/not butter -Microw/steam brocolli stems -Button mushrooms cut into small bits -Sauce consisted of part heavy cream, part sour cream, white wine and the heavy parm cheese. Also doubled the sauce like several people suggested. -More basil then the recipe called for (like others suggested). -A little valdalia onion and lots of garlic early on before chicken hits the skillet -Top it off with 3 pieces of bacon crumbled on top right before presenting -Serve w White Wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States