Basil Chicken and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This is a great recipe! I already had all of the ingredients in the frig! I made the mistake of not reading the suggestions before I made this dish and I realized very late that I would need more sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinesha Taylor Wellmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I was wondering what to do with a rotisserie chicken I had on hand when this recipe came through the Daily Dish e-mail. Perfect timing. This recipe is definitly a keeper. I followed some of the options other reviewers noted and loved the outcome. Added a shallot, sliced mushrooms and about 1/4 cup diced red pepper to the chicken and garlic. For the sauce, I did double as suggested, but I used the 3/4 c milk, 1/3 c butter and 1 T flour instead of heavy cream. I couldn't find fresh basil so used the dried. It was wonderful! I could hardly wait for the pasta to cook after sampling the chicken mixture. I did add peas to the pasta, and that didn't add much for us, but didn't detract. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This was great! Super fast to prep. On the table in 20 minutes! I used fresh basil instead of dry and added sun dried tomatoes and peas. I added the sun dried tomatoes when I added the garlic and added the peas at the very end. I also used half the amount of pasta. Also no chicken - just didn't have any. Oh, and I put the pasta in the sauce and let it simmer for about 5 minutes to absorb the flavors. My husband, who's a light eater, had 3 helpings... I had half a helping because I knew what was in it. Again, love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
great recipe! I did add mushrooms and it is even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
My family and I loved this recipe! All 5 kids cleaned their plates! I added garlic salt and paprika to the recipe and sauteed mushrooms and red bell pepper in with the chicken. I didn't have cream so I just used milk and thickened with a tsp of cornstarch. Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eric Meyer
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Like always, I read a few dozen reviews and look for commonality for what works and doens't work. In this case it was "more sauce". Here are all the mods and it went over great: -A lil cajun to the dice chicken prior to pan fry -Olive oil/not butter -Microw/steam brocolli stems -Button mushrooms cut into small bits -Sauce consisted of part heavy cream, part sour cream, white wine and the heavy parm cheese. Also doubled the sauce like several people suggested. -More basil then the recipe called for (like others suggested). -A little valdalia onion and lots of garlic early on before chicken hits the skillet -Top it off with 3 pieces of bacon crumbled on top right before presenting -Serve w White Wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I made it exactly like the recipe adding mushrooms like someone suggested. We really enjoyed it but next time I would like the sauce to be a little thicker so I will add a little cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Received this in my email this morning and thought I'd give it a try. VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Very delicious! I didn't have garlic cloves so I used chopped onion instead. I also added some paprika, season all, garlic powder, and didn't add as much the pepper or basil. I did add some flour to thicken it up a bit. I also added some broccli, califlower, carrots and squash (pre-boiled and added towards the end). I also used any noodles I had on hand. It came out very good and I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Great Recipe. If you are watching the fat though, then omit the cream and add a couple tbps of light sourcream and a bit of chicken broth to make the sauce the consistency you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States