Basil Chicken and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This is a great recipe! I already had all of the ingredients in the frig! I made the mistake of not reading the suggestions before I made this dish and I realized very late that I would need more sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinesha Taylor Wellmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I was wondering what to do with a rotisserie chicken I had on hand when this recipe came through the Daily Dish e-mail. Perfect timing. This recipe is definitly a keeper. I followed some of the options other reviewers noted and loved the outcome. Added a shallot, sliced mushrooms and about 1/4 cup diced red pepper to the chicken and garlic. For the sauce, I did double as suggested, but I used the 3/4 c milk, 1/3 c butter and 1 T flour instead of heavy cream. I couldn't find fresh basil so used the dried. It was wonderful! I could hardly wait for the pasta to cook after sampling the chicken mixture. I did add peas to the pasta, and that didn't add much for us, but didn't detract. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This was great! Super fast to prep. On the table in 20 minutes! I used fresh basil instead of dry and added sun dried tomatoes and peas. I added the sun dried tomatoes when I added the garlic and added the peas at the very end. I also used half the amount of pasta. Also no chicken - just didn't have any. Oh, and I put the pasta in the sauce and let it simmer for about 5 minutes to absorb the flavors. My husband, who's a light eater, had 3 helpings... I had half a helping because I knew what was in it. Again, love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
great recipe! I did add mushrooms and it is even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
My family and I loved this recipe! All 5 kids cleaned their plates! I added garlic salt and paprika to the recipe and sauteed mushrooms and red bell pepper in with the chicken. I didn't have cream so I just used milk and thickened with a tsp of cornstarch. Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eric Meyer
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Like always, I read a few dozen reviews and look for commonality for what works and doens't work. In this case it was "more sauce". Here are all the mods and it went over great: -A lil cajun to the dice chicken prior to pan fry -Olive oil/not butter -Microw/steam brocolli stems -Button mushrooms cut into small bits -Sauce consisted of part heavy cream, part sour cream, white wine and the heavy parm cheese. Also doubled the sauce like several people suggested. -More basil then the recipe called for (like others suggested). -A little valdalia onion and lots of garlic early on before chicken hits the skillet -Top it off with 3 pieces of bacon crumbled on top right before presenting -Serve w White Wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I made it exactly like the recipe adding mushrooms like someone suggested. We really enjoyed it but next time I would like the sauce to be a little thicker so I will add a little cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Received this in my email this morning and thought I'd give it a try. VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Very delicious! I didn't have garlic cloves so I used chopped onion instead. I also added some paprika, season all, garlic powder, and didn't add as much the pepper or basil. I did add some flour to thicken it up a bit. I also added some broccli, califlower, carrots and squash (pre-boiled and added towards the end). I also used any noodles I had on hand. It came out very good and I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Great Recipe. If you are watching the fat though, then omit the cream and add a couple tbps of light sourcream and a bit of chicken broth to make the sauce the consistency you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States