Basil Chicken and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I'm giving this a four star because it's a good basic recipe but required a lot of modification. I think the author left room for variation on purpose, though. This is what I did: 1. Doubled sauce ingredients (cream, Parmesan, pepper and basil), and added 1 tsp salt 2. I used 1 lb boneless chicken thigh because I like dark meat better 3. Added 1 pkg sliced mushrooms, 1/2 yellow onion, 1/2 red pepper; sauteed each in butter (onion and pepper together) and set them aside, then added them back just before I added the sauce ingredients to the browned chicken Next time I'd actually triple the cheese (also, if you want a thicker sauce and have a heart attack, add 1/2 cup of cream cheese!) The red pepper worked very well with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Not enough flavor for us to make regularly, but it made a good freezer meal for us to thaw out during busy weeks. The kids like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodiJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Great easy recipe. Followed it as written except substituted sour cream for heavy cream because that's what was on hand. Also added fresh chopped red pepper and green onions at end(not cooked). Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burns Boiled Water

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This was sooooo delicious! I doubled the liquid in it and substituted heavy cream with 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup Greek yogurt. It was a nice change from pasta with red sauce. In fact, I'm not sure if regular spaghetti will be eaten again in my house for quite a while. My fiance loved it and it smelled DELICIOUS while cooking! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Easy to make (30 Minutes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This recipe was good and a great starter but I did make some adjustments so I don't want to give it more than three stars. I baked the chicken in pepper, garlic and onion powder, some oregano and a little cheese blend. To the sauce I added shallots. I was concerned the amount of basil would be a lot because it looked that way in the sauce pan but it turned out fine. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Great little recipe. It was quick to make with ingredients on hand. It had tons of flavour and was really creamy which everyone loved. It even tasted good cold straight out of the fridge. I will be making this again for a weeknight meal. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Streetsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Tasty,quick,easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This was just so-so. Both my hubs and I agree that this was not to our liking at all (sorry!). Of all the pasta dishes I've made, this one just doesn't add up. Don't get me wrong.... This is good, it's just not GREAT. My criticisms are two-fold. Not only was this terribly dry (the pasta REALLY soaks up the little bit of sauce there is), it was also quite bland. Even after garnishing our bowls of pasta with fresh grated Parm and chopped basil, we still weren't hooked. Maybe this will suit your tastes, but it just didn't ours. Thanks anyways, Stacey. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
My main suggestion here is to salt the chicken as well. It definitely needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States