Basil Chicken and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Used Half & Half instead of heavy cream, since that was what I had on hand. Amazing! Even my 1 1/2 yr old wanted seconds... this one's definitely a keeper and super fast easy tasty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MENZIETO
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I added extra butter and omitted the cream!! I truly enjoyed this recipe!! It will be in rotation in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENZIETO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
very good! I added "italian mix" cheese (about 1/2 a cup). I'll probably go lighter on the cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firstdibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
great easy recipe!! i adjusted some of the portions for my bf and i, because i don't really measure: approx 10oz penne, 2 chicken breasts, 1 1/4C of cream, 1/4 cup fresh julienned basil, 1/2C parmesan plenty garlic and fresh ground pepper. i also precooked 2slices of bacon, drained on paper towel and removed almost all the bacon fat before adding 1tbsp butter to cook the chicken and garlic. after i added the cooked pasta to the pot, before i mixed it into the sauce i threw in the other tbsp butter and the crushed bacon. SO GOOD. this rich dish is definitely a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was really good. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly and it came out as a 4 star. I did double the sauce after reading a lot of reviews, but wished I hadn't because it ended up being way too much. The second time I made this was for my mom's retirement party and I did make some changes including seasoning the chicken prior to cooking and adding white wine to the sauce. The modified version was definitely a 5 star and everyone was raving about it....asking me who the caterer was!!! To everyone's surprise I was proud to say it was me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was an awesome dish! I also doubled the sauce and increased the chicken. The taste was just what I was looking for. A good comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I believe that this is actually a 4.5 star recipe, but still excellent! I made a few changes to suit health and ingredients I had on hand. Used spaghetti, which was nice, but next time I would try a rotini or similar. I had cooked the cubed chicken ahead of time, in onions and garlic- added flavor. I substituted a mix of Greek yogurt and milk for cream. I also doubled the amount of 'cream' I added- and it still wasn't enough! Next time, I'll triple it (the better to dip bread in)! This recipe made enough for 3 or 4 people. The taste of the sauce was excellent, and it was quick to make. Will make again! 2nd making comments: Perfect for a dinner party. Use rotini or similar because it’s perfect for the sauce. My earlier comments about needing more sauce are spot on – make much more sauce than you think you’ll need. Also, when making for guests, make sure that you do use a majority of cream or the sauce might curdle (example: I used 2 c cream and 1 c yogurt/milk mix and this was perfect, but a remake the next day with only yogurt/milk curdled. Tastes ok (not as good as w cream) but looked funny). Elegant tasting and easy. Be sure to use good Parmesan. Also, this would support a variety of veggies added to it – experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Quick easy dish but needed some salt!! I added some kosher salt for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This dish was delicious! I used whole wheat noodles. To the sauce i added a sliced roasted red pepper and 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. The two brought great colors to the dish. It was amazing! i recommend not using as much cayenne if you are not used to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turtle
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I thought this was a great recipe! I did add some of my own flare. I added a cup of chopped mushrooms and about half a cup of chopped onions to the sautee. I doubled the parm and add just a little extra cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States