Basil Chicken and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
It wasn't bad, but not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dyer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Good Stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaundice lemur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I made this last night and it was delicioius and very simple. I noticed my fiance was extremely quiet so I looked over at him and he was inhaling it, didn't hear a peep out of him until he'd devoured a huge bowl. I also used fresh basil after reading the other reviews and I added bella mushrooms when I cooked the chicken then after I added the cream I put sun dried tomatoes in too. Delicious! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This recipe was wonderful but I jazzed it up a little to match my tastes. I followed the advice of some of the other users and added some red, green, and yellow peppers for color and some sliced mushrooms so I would feel less guilty about the heavy cream :-). I also used a combination of regular and spinach penne noodles, added a little more garlic and pepper then squeezed in a little fresh lemon. I'll definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This recipe was just ok. It ended up being almost pasty. This may be because I used skim milk instead of cream to save calories. I also used an off brand wheat pasta which was really starchy. I may make again when I am willing to up the calories with real cream and use fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MImom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This recipe turned out really good after a few changes: in order to get more flavor I marinated the chicken with garlic, salt, pepper and olive oil in the morning and kept in the refrigerator all day. I didn't use any butter, only olive oil, half and half instead of heavy cream and finally a lot of "fresh basil".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Great easy meal for two! i added broccoli and doubled the cheese and let it simer with a lid on for about 6 minutes...yoummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Chaump

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I loved this! I tried it with fusilli but made a few changes: I used 2T olive oil instead of butter to make it a bit healthier and only 1 clove garlic because I'm not really a fan. I used twice the amount of parmesan stated in the recipe. Finally, I was disappointed to see that I didn't have any basil so I had to omit that. It was still awesome, though I'm sure it tastes even better with basil. I'm going to try that ASAP. PS: It's not nearly as good when you reheat it so try to eat it all when you first make it! Trust me, it won't be hard. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Wonderful quick and easy dish! I cut this down to 2 servings (half the chicken and half the pasta) left everything else as is, and used shredded parmesan/asiago/romano cheese blend. My only change was that I tossed in a handful of broccoli florets to the pasta when I was cooking it. This could have used a bit more sauce. I wasn't even sure my husband would like this, but after he took the first bite he commented on how good it was. So Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Great flavor, but it was way too dry. I even doubled the cream (I used half-and-half instead). I added freshly steamed broccoli florets, which rounded it out nicely. Next time I would either triple the sauce or cut the pasta down. Served with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States