Basil Chicken and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was very easy to make. I had exactly everything so was excited to prepare it for my boyfriend for dinner. I used fresh basil which should make a difference in the taste. It is imperitive that you double to sauce. I had to add more immediatley when making it as described. It took doubling it to make it restaurant quality. Otherwise you will have a dry pasta. I tossed it with some farfalle and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
It wasn't bad, but not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dyer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Good Stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaundice lemur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I made this last night and it was delicioius and very simple. I noticed my fiance was extremely quiet so I looked over at him and he was inhaling it, didn't hear a peep out of him until he'd devoured a huge bowl. I also used fresh basil after reading the other reviews and I added bella mushrooms when I cooked the chicken then after I added the cream I put sun dried tomatoes in too. Delicious! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This recipe was wonderful but I jazzed it up a little to match my tastes. I followed the advice of some of the other users and added some red, green, and yellow peppers for color and some sliced mushrooms so I would feel less guilty about the heavy cream :-). I also used a combination of regular and spinach penne noodles, added a little more garlic and pepper then squeezed in a little fresh lemon. I'll definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This recipe was just ok. It ended up being almost pasty. This may be because I used skim milk instead of cream to save calories. I also used an off brand wheat pasta which was really starchy. I may make again when I am willing to up the calories with real cream and use fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MImom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This recipe turned out really good after a few changes: in order to get more flavor I marinated the chicken with garlic, salt, pepper and olive oil in the morning and kept in the refrigerator all day. I didn't use any butter, only olive oil, half and half instead of heavy cream and finally a lot of "fresh basil".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Great easy meal for two! i added broccoli and doubled the cheese and let it simer with a lid on for about 6 minutes...yoummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Chaump

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I loved this! I tried it with fusilli but made a few changes: I used 2T olive oil instead of butter to make it a bit healthier and only 1 clove garlic because I'm not really a fan. I used twice the amount of parmesan stated in the recipe. Finally, I was disappointed to see that I didn't have any basil so I had to omit that. It was still awesome, though I'm sure it tastes even better with basil. I'm going to try that ASAP. PS: It's not nearly as good when you reheat it so try to eat it all when you first make it! Trust me, it won't be hard. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Wonderful quick and easy dish! I cut this down to 2 servings (half the chicken and half the pasta) left everything else as is, and used shredded parmesan/asiago/romano cheese blend. My only change was that I tossed in a handful of broccoli florets to the pasta when I was cooking it. This could have used a bit more sauce. I wasn't even sure my husband would like this, but after he took the first bite he commented on how good it was. So Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States