Basil Chicken and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Used Half & Half instead of heavy cream, since that was what I had on hand. Amazing! Even my 1 1/2 yr old wanted seconds... this one's definitely a keeper and super fast easy tasty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MENZIETO
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I added extra butter and omitted the cream!! I truly enjoyed this recipe!! It will be in rotation in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENZIETO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
very good! I added "italian mix" cheese (about 1/2 a cup). I'll probably go lighter on the cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firstdibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
great easy recipe!! i adjusted some of the portions for my bf and i, because i don't really measure: approx 10oz penne, 2 chicken breasts, 1 1/4C of cream, 1/4 cup fresh julienned basil, 1/2C parmesan plenty garlic and fresh ground pepper. i also precooked 2slices of bacon, drained on paper towel and removed almost all the bacon fat before adding 1tbsp butter to cook the chicken and garlic. after i added the cooked pasta to the pot, before i mixed it into the sauce i threw in the other tbsp butter and the crushed bacon. SO GOOD. this rich dish is definitely a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was really good. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly and it came out as a 4 star. I did double the sauce after reading a lot of reviews, but wished I hadn't because it ended up being way too much. The second time I made this was for my mom's retirement party and I did make some changes including seasoning the chicken prior to cooking and adding white wine to the sauce. The modified version was definitely a 5 star and everyone was raving about it....asking me who the caterer was!!! To everyone's surprise I was proud to say it was me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was an awesome dish! I also doubled the sauce and increased the chicken. The taste was just what I was looking for. A good comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I believe that this is actually a 4.5 star recipe, but still excellent! I made a few changes to suit health and ingredients I had on hand. Used spaghetti, which was nice, but next time I would try a rotini or similar. I had cooked the cubed chicken ahead of time, in onions and garlic- added flavor. I substituted a mix of Greek yogurt and milk for cream. I also doubled the amount of 'cream' I added- and it still wasn't enough! Next time, I'll triple it (the better to dip bread in)! This recipe made enough for 3 or 4 people. The taste of the sauce was excellent, and it was quick to make. Will make again! 2nd making comments: Perfect for a dinner party. Use rotini or similar because it’s perfect for the sauce. My earlier comments about needing more sauce are spot on – make much more sauce than you think you’ll need. Also, when making for guests, make sure that you do use a majority of cream or the sauce might curdle (example: I used 2 c cream and 1 c yogurt/milk mix and this was perfect, but a remake the next day with only yogurt/milk curdled. Tastes ok (not as good as w cream) but looked funny). Elegant tasting and easy. Be sure to use good Parmesan. Also, this would support a variety of veggies added to it – experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Quick easy dish but needed some salt!! I added some kosher salt for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This dish was delicious! I used whole wheat noodles. To the sauce i added a sliced roasted red pepper and 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. The two brought great colors to the dish. It was amazing! i recommend not using as much cayenne if you are not used to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turtle
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I thought this was a great recipe! I did add some of my own flare. I added a cup of chopped mushrooms and about half a cup of chopped onions to the sautee. I doubled the parm and add just a little extra cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States