Basil Chicken Ravioli Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This is the third dish I've tried with the Progresso Recipe Starters and definitely the most impressive without changing the recipe too much. I did add 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/2 tsp paprika, 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes, used freshly cooked crumbled bacon. I did sub lobster/ricotta ravioli for the 4 cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I really liked the sauce that this recipe makes...I thought it was a fantastic base. I did not add ravioli into the sauce...had run out of ravioli, so I simmered the sauce separately, and when done, served it over linguine. Slight changes: I added pieces of bacon into the sauce and melted tons of freshly grated parmesan cheese into it as well. It was amazing -- very restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Loved this one! It was a rough evening when I made this, I had 2 kids that needed to be picked up from activities, open house and a parents meeting that I had forgotten about. Luckily I had everything for this on hand so I thought I'd try it since its so quick. I used frozen ravioli I think it was an 11 oz package, homemade bacon bits and leftover cooked chicken. Dumped it all in the pan and let it simmer until it was done. I didn't use the full amount of half-and-half, just slowly added until it was the right consistency for out tastes. Also threw in some fresh grated Asiago cheese. I didn't have any fresh basil or parsley on hand so I topped with some green onion. Tasty, the family liked it and it was a dinner saver on a really hectic night. I would make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I thought this recipe was wonderful! I used to work at an Italian restaurant, and this recipe was very reminiscent of the Penne Carbonara dish that we sold there. I didn't add ravioli -- I simply served the sauce over penne noodles -- but the sauce was to die for! I was a bit concerned about the thickness of the sauce, but I let it simmer for a bit and then added a handful of cheese. Next time, I think I will try it with the ravioli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
My hubby & I loved this recipe. We will definitely make it again. I used real bacon, crumbled, & added some Italian blend shredded cheese on top. Omitted the basil, parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I was looking for a sauce for my cheese ravioli. This sauce was perfect and the taste is wonderful. I followed the recipe as is however let the sauce cook down a bit. It turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Excellent recipe. I sauted chicken tenderloins in a bit of the bacon drippings. I also added chopped onion and garlic to the chicken as it sauteed. Added the fresh chopped basil and s&p to taste at the end. (and skipped parmesan since I served it over rice). Husband and 16 year old son loved it. Served with asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Very good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Leedom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Heights, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Very good and very easy! I suggest melting some shredded parmesan directly into the sauce, as well as bacon pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States