Basil Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Update: Posted photo I topped with melted mozzerella and sauteed mushrooms and a big slab of tomato. So yummy! Original review: This were good, and great with a big slab of tomato and lots of mayo. However, I like my husband's spice mixture that he puts on his burgers a tiny bit better...thanks for letting me try something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
These grilled burgers were excellent. I sub'd 2t garlic powder for the garlic salt and chopped some white onion into the meat. Yummy recipe, AlissaB24!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
These were very juicy. Usually when I make burgers they come out dry, but not these. I did not have any dried basil but I did have fresh so I used that instead. Everything else I kept the same. Thanks for sharing your recipe!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I used this recipe, but stuffed the burgers with mozzerella cheese. Yummy! And the kids loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Little Canada, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I rate this burger four stars instead of five simply because I have to leave room in my ratings for that recipe that brings about shouts of rapture with periods of dizziness. That said, these were excellent burgers. I followed the recipe exactly other than I had a little less beef on hand than it called for. Very juicy and very tasty... and very easy to make. Added melted pepper jack cheese on top and served them in the traditional way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
If you like basil as I do, this is an excellent grilled burger. I did however reduce the amount of basil to one tablespoon. A friend of mine, opal~/~dragonfly from Our Table Talk dot com in her review and picture suggested topping it with sauteed mushrooms,melted Mozzarella and tomato. Since you have to top your burger with something, I followed her suggestion and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
We enjoyed these and they are really easy. Play with the amount of basil to get what you want. The basil seems to dry it just a bit. These will be a staple here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonneauville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Oxford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! Everyone at the cookout said they were the best burgers they EVER had. One person who raved about them is a Johnson and Wales graduate. We followed the recipe exactly but we added 1/4 t onion salt and fresh basil from our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Absolutely delightful! These were some of the juiciest burgers we've had in a long time. The only changes I made were...I added 1 egg to "bind" the meat, as well as about 1/4 to 1/2 cup of bread crumbs. The mixture was still quite moist and "fally-aparty", but we managed to keep them together. We served these with thin slices of tomato, broiled pineapple and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
burgers were okay, except it seemed like there was too much Worcestershire sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States