Basic Yummy Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2001
Tastes even better the second day! This also freezes well, and we make a double batch the night before Thanksgiving so that we have some for Christmas Dinner. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I have made this 2 yrs now for thanksgiving and EVERYONE LOVES IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Made this without any changes to original recipe and it came out perfect. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Morton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Really very good. I was worried it was going to be too dry, so added an additional 1/2 cup of drippings, which made it soggy. So, next time I will just follow the exact recipe (though, we doubled the oysters, since we live near the water and get them fresh!). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Had this recipe advertised itself as something better than "basic," I would have ranked it lower, but since it delivers on "basic" very well, I've ranked it as a 4 (for delivering what was promised). This dressing is really mild and as written needed more oysters. In all fairness to Lisa, she notes that the oyster volume should be adjusted to taste, which I will do next time. I will research spices to add next time I use this recipe. The large baking dish required in the instructions was too large. The dressing was spread too thin and could have easily been burned. I will use a smaller baking dish next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I needed to look in a couple of cookbooks to find out what to do with the oysters, since I had never used them before. Their advice: simmer about 5 minutes in saucepan, drain and chop. Also, I needed much more than 1/2 cup drippings. I used chicken broth (about a cup or more). Most people liked this at our pitch-in. I guess you need to like the flavor of oysters. I would also advise greasing the baking dish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Excellent oyster stuffing and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I don't like stuffing and don't eat this, but I tried my hand at making it this past Thansgiving, after my MIL passed away (she always used to make the stuffing). The family ate all of this, between the main meal and the leftovers, and all said they thought it was very good. Thank you for letting me keep a family tradition going!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This needs way more seasoning than called for to give it any flavor!! I had to do alot of adding and it still was not the classic stuffing taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I sauteed the oysters with the vegetables in bacon fat and added some chopped garlic and carrot. This needed a bit more liquid than was even asked for, so I used some of the pan drippings from the chicken I roasted. I did end up adding salt/pepper/sage after giving it a test before sticking it in the oven. With my additions, this is a good stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States