Basic Yankee Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
made this for thanksgiving this year. It was just ok. It came out slightly dry and bland. I followed the recipe exactly. I may try it again, but will have to tweak before I try to serve again to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Gilead, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This is a good recipe for stuffing. I do have one hint when you stuff the turkey and also bake some in the oven. I mix the two after cooking and then it all tastes like it was made in the bird. I also fry my dressing before I stuff the bird. What a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I make this every year for thanksgiving. The only change I make is to use a loaf of Pumpernickle along with the white bread. It makes the stuffing look interesting and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is a great base recipe that I have been looking for, but doctored up. I fried up Jimmy Dean sage sausage, drained it and sauteed the celery and onion in a stick of butter with poultry seasoning and salt and pepper. I omitted the eggs, and used 2 bags of pepperidge farm herb stuffing crumbles, and a few pieces of day old stale bread. I mixed it all in a large bowl and used chicken broth to bind it, and stuffed the turkey. The stuffing was incredible, everyone loved it! I was glad to find this recipe because it was most like the one my grandmother used when I was growing up, but I didnt have her recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FlaMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I tried making stuffing for the first time and used this recipe. I added 1 more tsp of sage, 1 tsp poultry seasoning, an additional egg, didn't drain the (hot)sausage and used 1/2 stick of butter to cook the celery & onion, and about 1 1/2 cans of chicken broth. The only change I'll make for next time is to use both cans of broth, as I thought it was a bit dry. I cooked it in a 9x13 dish @ 350 for 30 min. I found that 2 loafs of bread was a little much, and omitted about 8 pieces from the 2 loafs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Our favorite stuffing recipe. I don't add eggs though, and if you are baking the stuffing outside the turkey, there is nothing better than to get some bastings off the turkey and squirt it on before baking. If you use a bag to cook your turkey, just insert the baster into one of the slits you make in the top of the bag. This is so tasty and we have every time we make a turkey, I will not even try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This is a great stuffing. I have made this recipe the past two Thanksgiving's and there are never any leftovers. My son refused to eat stuffing out of a box after eating this. It is easy to prepare and a winner everytime. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyers26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richfield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I am a southerner who has a mom who is allergic to corn. So no cornbread stuffing for her. I made this alongside our usual cornbread stuffing and baked both outside the turkey in the oven. The whole family loved this recipe and couldn't believe there was a bread stuffing they liked!! Thanks for sharing we will be making this every year along with cornbread stuffing (can't give that up :) What a hit! Oh, I halved the recipe with great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Great recipe, same as my mom made my whole life. This is the stuffing that makes it feel like thanksgiving. We do make it a bit different: We use 2 packages of jimmy dean (regular) sausage, (do not drain) 1 stick butter, 6 stalks of celery, two med onions, 1 1/2 to 2 packages of bread (depending on size). Poultry seasoning, sage, and pepper to taste. (no salt as sausage is salty enough) Two eggs and 1/4 cup milk. For the broth we boil the neck, liver, gizzard and heart with 4-6 bouilion cubes. (makes a great stock). Cook in a Oven safe dish for approximately 30 min, 350 degrees, Make sure stuffing reaches 165 degrees. If you stuff the bird see internet for temp. regulations for health reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
So excellent - my family loved it. My Sis-in-law made it. Then I did too. Suggestion, when stuffing it into the bird, Line the bird with cheese cloth, then stuff. That way you don't miss a single bit of this wonderful stuffing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States