Basic Yankee Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Though the recipe title said stuffing the directions said dressing. I stopped doing stuffing years ago because dressing is almost always foolproof. Only a couple minor changes; I added poultry seasoning as well. My grandmother gave me a tip years ago that makes a world of difference. She told me "when you think you have added enough celery add some more" It makes it moist without being mushy. In this recipe I used 8 celery stalks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tirednhungry
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe will be a staple for my holiday table. I found a seasoned turkey stuffing bread and decided to give that a try for this recipe. As a result, I reduced the sage to 1 tsp. from 1 1/2 tsp. Also, the seasoned loaf seemed more dense than a regular loaf so I reduced the bread content to 1 loaf in place of the 2 loaves of white bread. It was a really nice savoury dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Everyone loved it!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Oh yeah. Add an apple or two to this and I think it would really be out of this world good. We had a ten pound bird and half the recipe was enough for stuffing the turkey and a pan of dressing besides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is just like the stuffing my grandmother used to make. It's delicious. I omit the sausage and use poultry seasoning instead of sage. This is a classic for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Excellent stuffing. Added some dried cranberries for a little sweetness. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This turns out wonderfully. When I am short on time I just use Mrs. Cubbisons dried stuffing breadcrumbs and add more chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellaroonie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Very good stuffing. Followed almost exactly but I let the bread set out overnight to dry out, and I thought 2 pounds of bread really was a lot. Probably used more like a pound and a half of dried bread, and more chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My favorite bread stuffing recipe! I toast the bread the day before and let sit on stackable cookie racks overnight(with wax paper underneath to catch any crumbs). I use low fat sausage and cook in muffin pans the next day with a dolop of butter on top!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States