Basic White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Yummy, but very dense. Mine fell in the middle as another reviewer said. Maybe more yeast? I think I'll try out a different recipe before giving this one another go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Love the taste and texture of the bread. Having trouble with it falling in the middle, though. Does anyone know how I can stop this from happening? I have used multigrain flour instead of white flour and it is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Tastes good, but I've made it three times and it's never risen past the halfway point of the pan so it ends up very dense. My other bread recipes work fine so I don't think it's my yeast or other ingredients. Not sure why it ends up so flat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Made it twice, excellent both times and I seem to have fails lol. Thank you Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taratoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I tried this recipe and found the bread tasted great but the appearance didn't work out and I am not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
We liked the taste of the inside but even with putting the crust on "light" for the color it ended up being very hard. The inside was nice and soft though. One other issue we had-there was way too much yeast in the recipe. My bread rose way too high and fell so we weren't able to use it for anything other than just eating (no sandwiches, toast, etc). I will be playing with this recipe a bit. I tried another one that I decreased the yeast down to 1 1/2 tsp of yeast and it turned out great (I got this number from another recipe we've tried that's a 1 1/2 lb loaf). Maybe try this? Also maybe it needs more moisture-I'm going to try adding at least another 1/4 cup next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
this is a great simple recipe. You cant mess it up..try it..you wont be disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Made exactly as written with no deviations. Really yummy bread with nice flavor. Fluffy and soft inside. I'll be making this again, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
It was really easy and tasted great. I baked it in the oven since my bread-machine likea to burn stuff, and it turned out perfectly. Stores well and cuts easily for sandwiches too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States