Basic White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2000
For my first bread machine experience this recipe was very easy and most important the family loved it. I did bake it in the oven and not in the ABM, I controlled the color and texture of the crust better in the oven. Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
My Husband and I loved this bread...quick and easy and has a great taste...This will be a great addition to our dinner menu... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Thank-you Heather you have started my son and i on the road of no return-no more shop bought bread for us .We just can't make it quick enough,and now i have the courage to try other things in the b/maker.The taste ,the texture superb.Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
after I mix the sugar, yeast and water, I place it in my sink w/water of the same temp for the 10 minutes. My yeast activates much better this way and the bread is always perfect! Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
AWESOME!!! Couldn't have asked for better! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This turned out nicely in appearance, but I didn't like the taste or the heavy texture. For those using yeast in the jar, the equivalent is 2-1/4 tsp, or check the fine print on your jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This recipe makes a nice dense compact texture. The flavor is great, especially right out of the oven and makes good toast. I let the bread machine to the work thru the 2nd rise, then I shape it, place it in 9X5 pan and bake at 375 degrees for 30-35 minutes. Yummy. Thanks Heather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
This recipe is great and works jsut make sure you follow it exactly or it wil not work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
This is the first bread recipe I've made in my new bread machine (yeah!) and it was great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
This is the best white bread recipe I've ever baked. I agree with you on simple things in life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States