Basic White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is a good, simple, everyday white bread. I reduced the sugar to 1-1/2 tsp. as my bread machine has a tendency to make the bread overrise, and I used 1-1/2 tsp. of bread machine yeast. I liked the addition of the dry milk powder which contributes softness and helps keep the bread fresh. I also like that this recipe does not call for a lot of butter or oil. I chose the basic white setting with the medium crust. Very versatile, basic bread for sandwiches or toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This was so yummy! I made it and some friends had come over and they devoured it within hours of it coming out of the machine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I made the loaf in my bread machine and it baked up perfectly. I was hesistant about it because I had made bread before using a different recipe and it had turned out dry and hard in the middle. When I sliced this recipe's bread up, it was so soft. My husband tried a piece and loved it. My kids loved it too. Soooo soft and yummy! Goodbye store bought bread, hello this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Excellent bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni Pratt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mason, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Just popped this out of my breadmaker and it is delicious. Nice color, texture and flavor. The only reason I haven't given it 5 stars is that I have yet to see how it will hold up, but I'm optimistic. TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Great recipe!I made this last night and my husband loved it! He said it was one of the best I'd made. I do not have a bread machine, so I dissolved the yeast in the water, then added the other ingredients (flour last). I baked it at 400 for about 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
The recipe was very easy to put together. The loaf was a bit small, but the flavor was exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I made the bread in the bread machine. It was very easy. My husband LOVED the bread. It has a good taste and is very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I made this bread, we were looking for sandwich bread, even on the lowest crust setting this one seems to be a little too crusty for that but still delicious! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graniteville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I don't really know how to rate bread machine bread since they all taste the same to me. Since it wasn't amazi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States