Basic Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Perfect simple vegetable stock and a great way to use up old vegetables. I throw all my vegetable trimmings in the freezer (stems from mushrooms, broccoli, asparagus etc) and bring them out when I make the stock. I don't add any salt because I use it in many different recipes and I like to season to taste at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
I loved the versatility of this recipe. I used the old, tired veggies sitting in my fridge and cut them up, threw them onto a baking sheet sprayed with olive oil PAM and after roasting, tossed them into a crockpot to simmer for the day. I also used dried herbs since that is what I had. I love having a veggie based stock for my vegetarian daughter to use. We used some to make our own version of vegetarian gravy. We the froze the gravy and remaining stock into single sized portions for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
Yummy, and I had all I needed in my fridge. Doesn't call for anything I haven't heard of, and doesn't assume that because you're vegetarian, you like lentils, garbanzo beans, and tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I keep a gallon zip loc bag in my freezer and add trimmings from fresh veggies as I slice and dice along with small bits of leftovers. When it's full, I dump it in the water with seasoning and simmer for a couple of hours then freeze in canning jars. That way, I always have fresh stock available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gadget_Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA
Living In: Crawford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Been doing this for years. Except I toss the veggies with olive oil & roast at 400 for 1 hour. [Roasting brings out more flavor] Turning every 15 min. Then I simmer for an hour or more. I keep a bag in the freezer and just keep filling it with cut offs and peelings. This also includes onion & garlic skin. They're full of flavor. I don't save the outer leaves of the celery. Too bitter. Stock never tastes the same but it's always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This was the tastiest vegetable stock I ever made. Amazing how something so simple can turn out so yummy. I added some mushrooms and bay leaves, and substituted dill for the thyme and parsley. I didn't even need to add any salt. It was great. Thank you so much for sharing. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Every Saturday, I used to come home with the week's groceries, and end up throwing out edible but rather sad-looking veggies that were taking up fridge space. I decided to look for something useful to do with them, and so I found this great recipe. I love it because it is SO versatile - you can throw in pretty much anything! It freezes well too. I'll never buy veggie bouillon again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
This was really excellent. (it smelled so good cooking) I felt like my soup started so much healthier without having to use boullion or store bought broth that is so high in sodium and preservatives. Sauteeing everything first really intensifies the flavor, and the olive oil really lends something to the broth. (Did need more than 1 tablespoon of olive oil, however.---Maybe I used too large of a pot)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Delicious! I reduced the salt, and will use even less next time. I couldn't bear to "discard the vegetables", so our dog gets a serving of them with her kibble every day. She wolfs it right down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2000
We used this stock to make the Curried Winter Soup and it turned out nicely. 15 minutes prep time is a gross understatement, though, unless you are much better with your knives than we are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ayden, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States