Basic Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
Yummy, and I had all I needed in my fridge. Doesn't call for anything I haven't heard of, and doesn't assume that because you're vegetarian, you like lentils, garbanzo beans, and tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2000
We used this stock to make the Curried Winter Soup and it turned out nicely. 15 minutes prep time is a gross understatement, though, unless you are much better with your knives than we are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ayden, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
This is a great recipe to make fast, healthy veggie stock. I use it to make vegetarian soup for my 14-month-old daughter and she loves it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This was the tastiest vegetable stock I ever made. Amazing how something so simple can turn out so yummy. I added some mushrooms and bay leaves, and substituted dill for the thyme and parsley. I didn't even need to add any salt. It was great. Thank you so much for sharing. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
A nice stock and easy to make. I used this as the stock in Pasta e Fagioli, instead of chicken broth, to make it vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
A solid vegetable stock, easy and inexpensive to make. Recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
This was really excellent. (it smelled so good cooking) I felt like my soup started so much healthier without having to use boullion or store bought broth that is so high in sodium and preservatives. Sauteeing everything first really intensifies the flavor, and the olive oil really lends something to the broth. (Did need more than 1 tablespoon of olive oil, however.---Maybe I used too large of a pot)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
A most excellent vegetable stock, flavourfull and versitile. Will definately prepare again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Every Saturday, I used to come home with the week's groceries, and end up throwing out edible but rather sad-looking veggies that were taking up fridge space. I decided to look for something useful to do with them, and so I found this great recipe. I love it because it is SO versatile - you can throw in pretty much anything! It freezes well too. I'll never buy veggie bouillon again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This recipe was ok. The yield was only 4 cups for me. Still worth the effort though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States