Basic Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Great recipe! The stock came out delicious. I like being able to make our own, it's fresher, more nutritious and no fat or salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This saved the day when I was preparing the brine for our Thanksgiving turkey this year! I needed a gallon of vegetable broth -- who wants to buy that?! Plus, I'm sure the taste of this will far exceed the canned variety. I didn't actually try the broth by itself, but I'm giving it four stars for being just what I needed, straight-forward, and and saving us money. My husband was there when I strained it, and jumped out of his chair when I went to throw out the vegetables. He liked them so much he nearly made himself sick trying to eat them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This is one of the best cards in my hand. I use it all the time. I often double the recipe too because I like using broth for other dishes especially rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Absolutely fabulous!! This is my #1 go-to recipe for veggie stock... I use it as my base for most of my cooked rice recipes and other dishes that call for some type of stock/broth. LOVE IT!! I sometimes add a little bit of cumin and chili powder for a bit more spicier flavor. Also, I play around with the vegetables I add... I love it with mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Lois
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Excellent! Very user friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
What a delicious veggie stock! I have used this in place of both chicken and beef stock and it was amazing. I froze all of the stock in 2 cup portions and thaw and use as needed. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I absolutely love this idea and can't believe I never thought of it myself! With the amount of veggies we go through in a week, this is the perfect solution for the trimmings and the occasional extras--not to mention the leftover fresh herbs I usually have. I did end up simmering mine for about an hour to intensify the flavor (I used onion, shallot, garlic, fennel stalk, corn cob, green pepper, thyme, oregano, parsley, and basil), and I prefer extra sea salt. I love that I can get a different flavor every time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daveycooks
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Great recipe. Better than anything coming out of a box or can. Not much effort at all. My only question is what to do with all of those cooked vegetables?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Perfect simple vegetable stock and a great way to use up old vegetables. I throw all my vegetable trimmings in the freezer (stems from mushrooms, broccoli, asparagus etc) and bring them out when I make the stock. I don't add any salt because I use it in many different recipes and I like to season to taste at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Nice recipe for us frugal chefs! I used leftover veggie clippings/peelings and this turned out pretty good. An excellent way to use up those spare veggie parts. Thanks so much for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States