Basic Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This saved the day when I was preparing the brine for our Thanksgiving turkey this year! I needed a gallon of vegetable broth -- who wants to buy that?! Plus, I'm sure the taste of this will far exceed the canned variety. I didn't actually try the broth by itself, but I'm giving it four stars for being just what I needed, straight-forward, and and saving us money. My husband was there when I strained it, and jumped out of his chair when I went to throw out the vegetables. He liked them so much he nearly made himself sick trying to eat them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This is one of the best cards in my hand. I use it all the time. I often double the recipe too because I like using broth for other dishes especially rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Absolutely fabulous!! This is my #1 go-to recipe for veggie stock... I use it as my base for most of my cooked rice recipes and other dishes that call for some type of stock/broth. LOVE IT!! I sometimes add a little bit of cumin and chili powder for a bit more spicier flavor. Also, I play around with the vegetables I add... I love it with mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Lois
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Excellent! Very user friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
What a delicious veggie stock! I have used this in place of both chicken and beef stock and it was amazing. I froze all of the stock in 2 cup portions and thaw and use as needed. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I absolutely love this idea and can't believe I never thought of it myself! With the amount of veggies we go through in a week, this is the perfect solution for the trimmings and the occasional extras--not to mention the leftover fresh herbs I usually have. I did end up simmering mine for about an hour to intensify the flavor (I used onion, shallot, garlic, fennel stalk, corn cob, green pepper, thyme, oregano, parsley, and basil), and I prefer extra sea salt. I love that I can get a different flavor every time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daveycooks
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Great recipe. Better than anything coming out of a box or can. Not much effort at all. My only question is what to do with all of those cooked vegetables?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Perfect simple vegetable stock and a great way to use up old vegetables. I throw all my vegetable trimmings in the freezer (stems from mushrooms, broccoli, asparagus etc) and bring them out when I make the stock. I don't add any salt because I use it in many different recipes and I like to season to taste at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Nice recipe for us frugal chefs! I used leftover veggie clippings/peelings and this turned out pretty good. An excellent way to use up those spare veggie parts. Thanks so much for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This is the easiest and best tasting stock I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States