Basic Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is a great basic vegetable stock recipe. I will be using this whenever I need stock and don't have chicken stock on hand(which I will admit I generally prefer). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This turned out pretty good - in fact there's still some in the freezer. I've been using it here and there. We like to use stocks and broths when we make rice or in place of wine or extra oil in some dishes. I added a red pepper that wasn't too fresh anymore but didn't want to throw out yet. I also added some peppercorns while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodFun-GlutenFree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ballston Spa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Very simple, easy to make, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Originally I just made this because the supermarket close to me doesn't sell vegetarian broth (what year is this again? :rolls eyes:) anyways it's amazing I make this and keep in the freezer... who needs broth from the store?? not me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This is great! I threw in all of the veggies I didn't end up eating by the end of the week. I love that it allows me to not waste food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Been doing this for years. Except I toss the veggies with olive oil & roast at 400 for 1 hour. [Roasting brings out more flavor] Turning every 15 min. Then I simmer for an hour or more. I keep a bag in the freezer and just keep filling it with cut offs and peelings. This also includes onion & garlic skin. They're full of flavor. I don't save the outer leaves of the celery. Too bitter. Stock never tastes the same but it's always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Made mine totally organic with the exception of the bay leaves. I didn't have any regular onions but did use a huge bunch of green onions. I also used 1 t dried thyme, 1 t dried parsely and sea salt. Worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I never thought of making my own stock until I came across this recipe, and I am so glad I did! I add a bigger variety of veggies than this recipe calls for and cook it much longer (about 2 hours) and it comes out great! I followed the advice of another reviewer and freeze veggie scraps for a couple months, then throw them into the broth. Awesome for making quick soups. I am cooking some right now and will freeze it into ice cube trays! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Great! I was able to make this on a whim because i actually had the ingredients in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Great use for extra veges! These are easy "secrets" that help enhance recipes naturally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States