Basic Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Flavorful and versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Good results and easy to do! I am going to use it to brine my turkey so I made a gallon, but plan on making it again to use in other recipes. I used a bit of yellow pepper, mushrooms, potato peels, carrots, onion, celery. Omitted the green onion and bay leaves because I didn't have them and used thyme, and rosemary. I started my freezer bag of scraps for next time as one cook suggested. I love being thrifty when it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Excellent, easy and affordable! Best of all, hardly any sodium. I added a turnip because I had one on hand and froze it in separate tupperwares to use whenever I needed stock. Next time I think I will add more water just to increase the quantity I get as it's mostly for cooking and not so much for soup base so having it slightly diluted wouldn't hurt it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Thank you for this basic and versatile recipe for veggie stock. My new husband is vegetarian, but over the years I had gotten quite good at making chicken stock. :) Making veggie stock was a different task for me, but I enjoyed it and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loisln77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
We only buy vegetable stock when it's on sale because it's so expensive! Never imagined it's be so easy/cheap to make. I used dried oregano, parsley and rosemary for the herbs and i grated the garlic in, it basically dissolved into the stock, so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Easy and excellent! I saved up all my vegetable odds and ends in the freezer over the summer and fall and added them to this recipe (a la Step 4). I also used about 2 cups of water that I'd boiled potatoes in to make it slightly heavier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
simple, easy, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
so easy, so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I tried this during the winter for split pea soup and it was wonderful. Now that it is summer, I am using this as a crab soup base.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States