Basic Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
wish I'd know about this years ago. I could of saved so much money than buying all of those cans or avoid all the added salt with those cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This was soo easy to do, 1st time I've made my own vegetable stock...lord where was this recipe years ago....I could have been doing this all this time...but no, I'd buy the box...not any more. I'm glad the submitter wrote extra notes about using other veggies for different vegetable stock options. I will so keep this from now on. TY I used this recipe as part of my dinner, and it worked soo well in the split pea soup I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Good recipe! I will use this as my go to stock recipe. My family tends to have old vegetables in our fridge and now i now what to do with it. It looks exactly like and tastes like store bought! This is a recipe you can experiment with which i like. I did add some ginger and mushrooms to my stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Made it on thanksgiving when I ran out of stock. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Flavorful and versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Good results and easy to do! I am going to use it to brine my turkey so I made a gallon, but plan on making it again to use in other recipes. I used a bit of yellow pepper, mushrooms, potato peels, carrots, onion, celery. Omitted the green onion and bay leaves because I didn't have them and used thyme, and rosemary. I started my freezer bag of scraps for next time as one cook suggested. I love being thrifty when it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Excellent, easy and affordable! Best of all, hardly any sodium. I added a turnip because I had one on hand and froze it in separate tupperwares to use whenever I needed stock. Next time I think I will add more water just to increase the quantity I get as it's mostly for cooking and not so much for soup base so having it slightly diluted wouldn't hurt it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Thank you for this basic and versatile recipe for veggie stock. My new husband is vegetarian, but over the years I had gotten quite good at making chicken stock. :) Making veggie stock was a different task for me, but I enjoyed it and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loisln77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
We only buy vegetable stock when it's on sale because it's so expensive! Never imagined it's be so easy/cheap to make. I used dried oregano, parsley and rosemary for the herbs and i grated the garlic in, it basically dissolved into the stock, so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States