Basic Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I followed this recipe exactly (a rarity for me) and the truffles came out very hard. I am not sure why, but now I have to try re-heating them and adding more cream and hope for the best. I have never had a problem with truffles before, just needed a recipe as I have not made them in years. Update: Yup, the problem was not enough cream. Once I reheated the whole mess and added more cream, they turned out fine. I split this, added orange extract to half and peppermint extract to half, then rolled, coated with white chocolate or crushed candy canes, and they were good. However, since the recipe seems to be off, I will just use another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I used Ghirardelli's double chocolate chips for a smoother taste for my friends that do not like straight bittersweet. topped with white chocolate and cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sakuraiiko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
These truffles were ok...I took the advice of one of the reviewers and used a flavoured creamer...I used hazelnut. The taste was ok, but I thought the taste was a bit too bitter for me even though I used semisweet chocolate. If I do make these next time, I will use milk chocolate. I dipped them in milk chocolate and drizzled with white chocolate so they look very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
I made these yesterday and my family LOVED them! They were a big hit! I did use semi-sweet instead of bitter-sweet, they were very rich and creamy. I also added 2 teaspoons of orange liquer, but the flavor was not very noticable, it needed a bit more. Overall this was a very easy recipe with a wonderful finished product! I 'm making these for gifts this Christmas....THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Very good and easy to make. I did try with white chocolate and they didn't set so I dunked them in chocolate and it worked fine. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
Oh my gosh!!!! These are so so good. I could not stop eating these, I was making myself sick so I put some in the freezer. I don't think it will work I will just sneek them out one by one. Next time I will double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
These truffles were too bitter. Truffles using semi-sweet chocolate are better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
I made this recipe up to take to work with me for the office Christmas Party. The first batch I made I added some orange flavoring to it and it turned out well. However, I wanted Irish Cream Truffles when I made it the second time around. I didn't want to go out and purchase a $13 bottle of Irish Cream liqueur (we don't drink) so I decided to substitute those new flavored creamers for the heavy cream. You wouldn't believe it, but it worked out so wonderfully!!! These are easy to make and it's a wonderful basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
The taste of these truffles was wonderful though I couldn't get them to harden enough to remain in a ball form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
i made these as christmas gifts, they are so easy, but look like they took a lot of time and effort! i covered mine with melted milk chocolate, which gave a bit of a cool effect (dark truffle center, lighter chocolate outside). i also added a bit of brandy to them, yet the flavor of the brandy wasn't very strong, next time i think i shall add more than just a splash. thanks for the recipe, they were a great success, especially for my first time working with chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States