Basic Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I used 3/4 c. cream as dictated by the traditional truffle recipe. Instead of the vanilla, I used 3 Tablespoons (yes big T!) of Kahlua. Oh my gosh--so good! If you have trouble rolling, definitely leave in the refrigerator for another hour or so. It will make it much much easier. Once you coat with cocoa powder, let it sit for a few minutes. Then re-roll (the topping makes it less sticky) in order to make a good shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MedMimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I'm no expert (so I'm going for a middle-of-the-road-rating) but I've tried to make these twice (actually, 4 batches, just 2 different times) and I don't like the results I get. They're very hard and not very tasty. I used to live with a chocolatier, and she could use these approximate ingredients and make something great, but when I finally gave up my "purist" aspirations and tried other truffle recipes I had MUCH BETTER results. I'm not sure I'm going to try this recipe a third time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Delicious. I'm a beginner cook, so it took some experimentation with the refrigerator and microwave to get it to set to the right consistancy (first it was too hard, then it was too soft, then just right) but once you get the hang of it, they're easy to make. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This was my method: I used 1 & 1/4 cup or so Ghirardelli semi-sweet chips, 2/3 cup heavy cream, 2 tbsp unsalted butter, and the vanilla. I made several flavors but quite a few people concurred that the vanilla/peppermint was the best. I rolled them in powdered sugar, rather than attempting to coat them with a shell (impossible for me!) Freezing the blobby little melon-baller scoopings for a half hour and rolling with my hands after that was the only way they came anywhere close to attractive. I gave them to tons of family this Christmas and everyone loved them. (My brother in law especially, he must have asked at least 4 times if I was absolutely sure they were all gone- I think he searched my fridge for good measure just in case I was holding out!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This recipe is definately the best their is. It is true to its words.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
This is a great basic recipe. Anyone that complains about the taste of the chocolate is overlooking one HUGE point: If you start out with cheap chocolate you will get a truffle that tastes like cheap chocolate, or just doesn't work. A higher quality chocolate will yield a better truffle. Also, the less actual chocolate in the chips the more problems you will have getting them to the right consistancy. One more point-If you don't care for bitter sweet chocolate, don't use it. That's why there are so many varieties in the baking section. I recommend Guittard, in my mind the best you can buy before Godiva. Ghriradelli is good as well, but the Guittard has a richer, more European taste (since it is). They cost a bit more, but you won't believe what you'd get! Much cheaper than Godiva! PS- I apologize for any spelling errors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Simple but delicious! I had no luck with rolling or candy molds, but that's not the fault of the recipe - I'm completely inept when it comes to making food pretty. I bought a "trigger funnel" and dropped chocolate "kisses" instead. I experimented with LOTS of different flavors instead of the vanilla - all got rave reviews in my cookie/candy exchange this Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
i gave these away as christmas gifts to my teachers and now they are paying me to make them from them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
These are so simple to make, although very messy! I topped some with chopped andy's candies and they were very good. I also topped some with pecans and some with walnuts. These were a great hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
WOW! This is easy to make, easy to adapt to different tastes, and very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States