Basic Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was an amazingly easy and wonderful recipe. I added 2 T. of butter as another reviewer suggested. I rolled them in crushed peppermint candy and cocoa, and drizzed some with white chocolate melted with a tad of oil. They were absolutely beautiful and people LOVED the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I split the truffle mixture in half before rolling. 1/2 I added Grand Marnier to and the other 1/2 almond extract. They were both excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
yummmmy... these were delicious. I needed to make party favors for my daughters 1st birthday party and I came across this recipe. Last minute idea.. perfect. I didnt need to run out to the store to grab ingredients, i had everything on hand.I made them the night before and left them out on the counter and in the morning I refridgerated for 2-3 hours and then I rolled them in cocoa powder and i also drizzled some with caramel. I put them in a yellow muffin cup, put some hersheys kisses along side of them and wrapped them in pink pokka dotted cellophane wrap and tied them with a pretty burgandy ribbion. They were cute, beautiful and delicious. Thank you for sharing this recipe. ohh i also used 3/4 of a cup of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
THESE ARE GREAT, I COVERED WITH RICE CRISPIES AND COATED THAT WITH CHOCOLATE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is the best chocolate I have tasted and my husband assured me that it is much better than anything that can be purchased at the store. Will definitely be making again!! Am actually going to make it for the second time tonight (having a chocolate craving...mmmm) I love milk chocolate, so I substituted milk chocolate chips for the bittersweet. I also made some peppermint truffles by adding peppermint extract instead of vanilla. Yummy!! Tastes as good as Laura Secord mint chocolate or better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamma M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I tried these with almond flavoring, mint and with vanilla. The mint was definitely the best. I added a bit more cream (x1.5) and I didn't use a melon baller at all. Just rolled them up like cookies. I covered them with 4 different toppings: 1) chocolate sprinkles, 2) powdered sugar, 3)cocoa powder and 4) nuts. I would try all but the powdered sugar again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
These are very easy to make. The truffle mixture firms up nicely when chilled. If it gets too hard, warm 30 seconds in the microwave. I used a mellon baller dipped in cocoa poowder to scoop the chocolate. I also rolled some in toasted coconut and ground hazelnuts. Make sure they're room temperature before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made 2 batches of the truffles- one I followed as directed in the recipe, and the other I added a little butter and rum. I have to say I was not all that impressed. They did get eaten, and it was a good way to use up the bitter-sweet chocolate I bought on accident(somehow I thought it was white chocolate). Sadly, I much prefer the large package of truffles from Costco. They are way better and probably cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
i Have made this recipe for years with great reviews. my secret is to make this recipe and let sit in refrigerator with saran wrap for a week or so it give it a creamier texture and the flavor is much more intense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie D'oh
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Very easy and pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie D'oh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States