Basic Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
THESE ARE GREAT, I COVERED WITH RICE CRISPIES AND COATED THAT WITH CHOCOLATE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is the best chocolate I have tasted and my husband assured me that it is much better than anything that can be purchased at the store. Will definitely be making again!! Am actually going to make it for the second time tonight (having a chocolate craving...mmmm) I love milk chocolate, so I substituted milk chocolate chips for the bittersweet. I also made some peppermint truffles by adding peppermint extract instead of vanilla. Yummy!! Tastes as good as Laura Secord mint chocolate or better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamma M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I tried these with almond flavoring, mint and with vanilla. The mint was definitely the best. I added a bit more cream (x1.5) and I didn't use a melon baller at all. Just rolled them up like cookies. I covered them with 4 different toppings: 1) chocolate sprinkles, 2) powdered sugar, 3)cocoa powder and 4) nuts. I would try all but the powdered sugar again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
These are very easy to make. The truffle mixture firms up nicely when chilled. If it gets too hard, warm 30 seconds in the microwave. I used a mellon baller dipped in cocoa poowder to scoop the chocolate. I also rolled some in toasted coconut and ground hazelnuts. Make sure they're room temperature before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made 2 batches of the truffles- one I followed as directed in the recipe, and the other I added a little butter and rum. I have to say I was not all that impressed. They did get eaten, and it was a good way to use up the bitter-sweet chocolate I bought on accident(somehow I thought it was white chocolate). Sadly, I much prefer the large package of truffles from Costco. They are way better and probably cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
i Have made this recipe for years with great reviews. my secret is to make this recipe and let sit in refrigerator with saran wrap for a week or so it give it a creamier texture and the flavor is much more intense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie D'oh
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Very easy and pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie D'oh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
i thank you for this recipe it was easy to make and i served them to many people at grill out i rolled carmel in them and everyone seemed to like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
These are delicious! For half of the chocolate I used plain milk chocolate button melts and the other half was Lindt 70% cocoa chocolate. Very rich and not too bitter as the 70% cocoa chocolate is by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This is a very good starter recipe! I used Ghiradelli bittersweet chips and added just a touch more cream the called for. I did expresso/coffee truffles, grinding up coffee beans VERY finely and used about 3 teaspoons for the whole batch. I refrigerated them for a bit before scooping them out and shaping into balls. I chilled them again before double-dipping them in chocolate and added a whole coffee bean on top of each. Definitely a keeper for simple they are to make, next time I'll try grinding up coconut and adding coconut and rum extracts and rolling it in coconut for a tropical twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roweena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States