Basic Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
These were amazing. I have to admit I was intimidated by the process, but they turned out great. I found it to be key to pour the ganache in a shallow dish - that way it cools consistently. It was quite the undertaking to roll these into little balls. Next time I will use a melon baller to make them all the same size. I did three batches over 2 days - rolled some in finely chopped walnuts, others in sprinkles (for the kids) or coconut. I also added mint extract to one batch, and rolled those in powdered sugar. Last batch was Kahlua, rolled in cocoa powder. Everyone raved over these - from my 87 year old neighbor down to the 1 year old. I'm making again for our Christmas Eve gathering, and to give to neighbors as gifts. A keeper, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snuffles
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I made these yesterday for a baby shower tomorrow. I made 3 different flavors. I had a lot of s'mores items that I hadn't used, so I added 7 large marshmallows with "about" 1/8 cup of extra cream to the cream and chocolate while it was heating, then added the chocolate. After letting cool, I rolled them into balls and then into crushed graham cracker, let cool, then dipped in melted chocolate and sprinkled with graham cracker. I made white chocolate peppermint by mixing Ande's peppermint chips with white chocolate (about 3/4 to 1/4 ratio), and covering with white chocolate coating. The last kind I made was raspberry nut. I substituted the vanilla flavoring for "about" 2 tsp of raspberry, rolled in nuts, then chocolate coating after freezing for a while. They are all great, and I think the people at the baby shower will love them. I used Ghirardelli, Hershey's and Nestle for the insides and Baker's for the outsides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
wow. This dish is so dangerous for me! I made it as stated and then rolled the balls in crushed heath bar bits. It was amazing! I ate WAY too many because I just couldn't help myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
A couple of minor changes...pour the ganache into a lined baking an or frame and smooth. Let it sit at room temperature overnight. Instead of round truffles, you can cut into strips for squares, triangles or rectangles. I also substituted irish cream for vanilla, a little heavier handed than 1 tsp, and it was amazing. Spend the money and get E Guittard, Callebaut or Valhrona. It's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstarz

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I have never made Truffles before. This recipe was easy & very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FilthyMidget

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
So very easy and it was easy to change things. I didn't have any Amaretto, but I had Amaretto flavored Agave Nectar and it worked just fine. I also added some chopped pecans. WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Very good base recipe to do some wonderful things with! I followed exactly, added peppermint extract to some and dipped in rich milk chocolate. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This is exactly what it claims to be - a basic truffle recipe - easy to make and easy to adjust to one's tastes. Granted, I am a truffle-making novice, but not new to chocolate dessert making. I will definitely keep this one to use again. After reading several of the reviews that said they were too hard, I added extra liquid flavoring to my first batch. When they turned out way too gooey (though they'd make a delicious filling), I reexamined the recipe. I realized that the Ghirardelli chocolate I'd bought was only 10 oz - not 12, like other brands of the same form. The 2nd batch I made, I went strictly by this recipe, and the consistency was perfect - soft and silky, but not melty or mushy. I don't know if perhaps the type of chocolate others used played a factor in their dryness - or altitude, moisture in the air, etc. But for me, these proportions were a great start. I've tasted truffles that were more light and fluffy, and I'd like to find a recipe for those in the future, but I discovered in my searching that there are many different ways of making truffles - I imagine those are an advanced version (not a "basic").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Do not cook chocolate over an open flame. You should prepare truffles one of two ways. Either over a double broiler or adding hot cream to cold chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
these were awful. way too bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States