Basic Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Simple, easy and rich. I splurged for the ghiradelli chocolate chips and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I used organic bittersweet chocolate so it was good quality chocolate. I added 2 tbsp. of Bailey's after I took the melted chocolate off the heat and the chocolate 'seized' -- became a grainy, gritty mess. I put it in the fridge anyway to cool and it became a solid hard block of chocolate. No way that I could scoop anything. I tried to eat it as is but it was so bitter. In reading other recipes I think this recipe is just off and would not use it again. There really doesn't seem to be enough cream for that much chocolate. Other recipes have 1/2 cup of whipping cream for that much chocolate. Also chocolate should NEVER be heated over medium heat! It's too easy to scorch it and ruin the chocolate. You should either use a double boiler or LOW heat. And if you don't like bittersweet chocolate, you're not going to like bittersweet truffles. I would use milk chocolate or a mix of bittersweet and milk chocolate. Better yet, I'll find a different recipe. Definitely won't be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
My first attempt at truffles and they taste good. My husband and I preferred a powdered sugar coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This was better than expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
perfect and easy to do. very elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is the best recipe! I added some butter ... And it worked out perfectly!My parents and sister love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
These taste okay but they are difficult to work with. I end up putting the mixture in my cake decorating tube and piping it into molds that I have already prepped with hardening chocolate. Then I add more hardening chocolate on top and they come out okay. I made the recipe with cream cheese this year and found the consistency much better to roll and then dip. I think the cream cheese recipe tastes better too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Photo by Jenna2o9
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
lol I made them into Christmas critters they taste sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I followed the directions for this recipe exactly, and although the truffles certainly weren't bad, they were rather grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I tried this recipe,and had delicious results,except that the batter melted in my hands as I rolled them. I think I skimped a little on the heavy cream,or maybe because I used semi-sweet chocolate chips. I hope to try this recipe again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dudley, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States