Basic Sweet Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
I baked bread at 350 and this was a good temperature for the mix since so temperature was given. Bread is excellent. Alyce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
After making a double batch of Carol's recipe I found that the ingredients and qtys worked very well together and produced a very good elastic dough just right for braiding. My wife said it was the best bread she had ever tasted. It makes the best toast too. Bill Axtell 11/25/01
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apurpleocean
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
very good. i halved this recipe. used butter instead of the shortening and used one packet of instant yeast. after it rose i deflated and rolled it out like you would when youre going to make cinnamon rolls. then spread a layer of cream chease (8oz)that was mixed with 2 T of sugar and 3/4 to 1 tsp of vanilla extract. then on top of that layer i spread some raspberry filling i had made by putting 2 cups frozen raspberries, 2 T lemon juice 1/3 cup sugar and 1/3 cup corn starch in a saucepan and simmer for 15 min. then let cool completely. rolled it up formed into a ring then made cuts with a knife 3/4ths of the way to the inside of the ring. let rise and sprinkle with streusal topping and cook till golden brown at 375. you can do anything with this dough! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apurpleocean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Had this in my Fleischman's Recipe book from years ago. When I went to bake this year . . everything is geared toward fast rising dry yeast. this is an old recipe, like the one I followed for years . . except I add all milk. Lets go back to the basics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ridgway, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
I made several things out of this dough I must say this is a very good cinnamon roll dough I was very impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2001
Very light and sweet; delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miki
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is one of the best sweet doughs I've ever used. I have been looking for a really good sweet dough recipe for years and have finally found the "one". We are eastern European and my grandmother used to make a cake called cocosh. It's basically a sweet yeast dough that is filled with chocolate, rolled and baked in log form. The other more common known version is with poppy seed filling sometimes called mohn roll. This dough was perfect! Baked up light, fluffy and soft. Very simple to make and even easier to work with. Thank you so much for this recipe. I can't wait to try and make a challah with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
wow! I like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I used it for some cinammon rolls.... The whole family loved the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefpawnee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burdett, Kansas, USA
Living In: Scranton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Easy recipe to make. Taste was pretty good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oro-Medonte, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Knead Dough

Watch how to knead dough by hand with these simple step-by-step instructions.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States